Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

Samba Share Problem with "read only"

This is a discussion on Samba Share Problem with "read only" within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am a Linux newbie, but everything has been going rather well. However, I've been scouring the internet for quite

Old 08-02-2008, 11:55 AM   #1
Registered Member

I am a Linux newbie, but everything has been going rather well. However, I've been scouring the internet for quite sometime today and was unable to find anything on my problem...

My networked samba share will only let me write files to the main directory of the share, I can't write files to any of the subdirectories.

I have a Samba share already from my Ubuntu 8 server to my XP machine that is working perfect, but I was wanting to create an additional Samba Share so I went into the smb.conf file and basically copy and pasted from the original already working Samba share, just changed the path.

Then did the "sudo chmod 0777 /var/" for file permissions

This worked perfectly as far as displaying all of the directory and being able to access the subdirectories. Looking at the properties of the folders however I can see that they're read only. I can even create a new folder in the main directory, but can't write to it..

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Old 08-02-2008, 01:55 PM   #2
Registered Member

OS: xp 64 sp2 Fedora Core 8 (vmware xp core 8 x32) Minix

My writeable area is everything under /home that my user name can get too. My personal directory has permissions of 0700 and it creates a file (and directory) with no problem.

[home]
comment = Home Folder
path = /home
guest ok = yes
writeable = yes
; printable = no
; create mask = 0765
; browseable = yes
; valid users = xxx ;the xxx was set to my login