Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

Remove Ubuntu, Install XP

This is a discussion on Remove Ubuntu, Install XP within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. On a laptop with no floppy disk drive I needed to remove Ubuntu and install XP. I do not have


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2007, 06:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



On a laptop with no floppy disk drive I needed to remove Ubuntu and install XP.
I do not have an original system disk but do have a an XP home edition CD. I had partitioned and formated but when I run the XP CD it just tells me it did not find any hard drives. It said I should properly connect a properly configered drive.

I see from other answer on this problem that advice is given variously to use the XP CD or the Ubuntu CD but neither answer seems to offer a solution that I can use.

I tried other boot CD's but they just give a prompt. I tried loading Win 98 and it work but when I then put the XP Cd in to update I get the same no drive message.

I am lost on this one folks.

__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 07:27 AM   #2
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


What filesystem did you format it to? How did you format at? (What program)

__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 07:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



Fat32
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 07:43 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



Sorry with the Win98 CD fdisk.
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 09:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



Hi Kyle

Well I put a Ubuntu live CD in and tried to run the command line fdisk and it said I needed a DOS Partition Table. When I ran that it told me the sector size is 2048 (not 512).

I am not to good after that?
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 09:43 AM   #6
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


Download the GParted Live CD (about 50MB) from http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...kage_id=173828.
Burn it to a CD and boot from it. Delete all the existing partitions, make sure to apply the changes. Do not create new partitions.
After you've done that, boot from the XP disk and try the installer again.
__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 10:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



I did have gParted on CD and did as you suggested and got the same message, no dirve. I have been reading some of the other threads and it seems the MBR is what may be missing but I do not know how to replace it?
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 12:26 PM   #8
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


Ok, let's try formatting the MBR.
Insert the XP CD, after it has loaded all the files, instead of starting the installer, press "R" to boot to the recovery console. Once you're in the Recover Console, type "fixmbr" (no quotes) and allow it to reset the MBR. Then try the installer again.
We'll figure this out
__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 12:43 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



Oh dear. I tried that as well and it comes up with exactly the same no drive message. You can get no futher because all you can do is shut down.
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 01:03 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



I must admit that having been usiong Window since Win2 it realy is the first time this has happened to me. I am only about a year into Ubuntu anmd other linux bistros so just a new boy. Does Grub place the boot sequence inside the same portion as Windows and mask it perhaps. Just grasping at an answer I guess.

__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 03:38 AM   #11
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


the command fixmbr should remove GRUB as long as it was installed to the MBR. If GRUB was installed to the root folder of Ubuntu, then deleting that partition should have removed it.
I really can't think what else to do, I've never done that. One thing you could try is to boot from the GParted CD again and create a NTFS partition.
__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:45 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



Kyle NTFS does not help either. It seems I either need to purchase a USA CD drive or a USA floppy drive just to get over this one problem. What a hassel getting rid of Linux.
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 03:56 AM   #13
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


Maybe the people at Ubuntu forums would be able to help you.
__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 04:58 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



Thanks a lot Kyle but again I am on that Forum and they could not either and two other list are as flumuxed by it so we are not alone.
__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 07:31 AM   #15
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


Wow, I really wish I could get to the bottom of this. I'll keep investigating, if you do find the fix I'd like to know, for the next time.

EDIT: Could you run the Ubuntu Live CD and run the fdisk command, then post the exact error message you get?
__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:52 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OS: XP



OK from Ubuntu live disk load.

Terminal

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk /dev/hda

Unable to open dev/hda

Uubuntu@ubuntu:~$

So I guess it cannot now read the Fat32 disk.

If I format for Ubuntu it will of course but that gets me no futher.

__________________
iangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spylocked 4.0 rogue spyware & browser hijacker
My friend got tricked into downloading a "video" from Youtube which turned out to be SpyLocked 4.0. Long story short is I've been here for a few hours trying to get his system cleaned. I *think* I've rid him of the program (nothing popus up on reboot telling him about the nefarious trojan he...
jbcoops Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 05-28-2007 03:57 PM
Having trouble with Microsoft Internet Explorer
Hello! I am having problems with my internet explorer such as; when I go to my 'tools' selection on the tool bar and click it, my pop up blocker is gone. There is a space and arrow for it but no words??? I put my mouse over it and an empty selection box comes up. When I go to microsoft to...
cylet Inactive Malware Help Topics 15 12-31-2006 08:20 AM
Vcodec.eMedia, Smitfraud, Zlob.Downloader, Webhancer & More
I can't seem to remove any of these spyware/malware myself I've tried spybot, ad-aware, ewido, etc and now i'm coming to you in hopes of help. Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 5:46:23 PM, on 10/23/2006 Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 SP2...
dking131504 Inactive Malware Help Topics 83 11-06-2006 06:20 PM
Sudden surge of Malware (anti-windows updates?) found by Xoftspy. 4 of 5 steps done.
Recently Sygate Personal Firewall came up with a message asking to allow a site that came out of nowhere, not thinking I allowed it to open, and here's the kicker, I clicked the "remember my choice" button. Now that makes me feel stupid (I'd looked into the log for Sygate but couldn't figure out...
Dimeuno Inactive Malware Help Topics 51 10-23-2006 11:42 AM
grassi's not clean
hello team, well i left here a couple of days ago and was recomended to go to xp forum and post a error, i received at the end of your fix while playing a game, which led me to beleive my computer was clean, with the exception of this error, which seemed to be of no importance?? Anyway i had some...
grassi Resolved HJT Threads 28 01-24-2006 09:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts