Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Loss of all icons and start menu

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  JAMMAN 
#1 · (Edited)
Firstly, Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here !

All my desktop icons escaped into cyberspace somewhere, along with the start up menu, although my background picture has remained ???

This problem has had me pulling my hair out (my excuse for going bald), and I've tried most of the ideas folks have suggested, which leads me to another problem.

I bought this laptop second hand, and I was given the password to start it up, and all was going well, until recently that is, when all the icons etc disappeared.
One of the solutions suggested pressing Ctrl and F1, which took me to a black screen that needs a "User" name, and knowing next to nothing about computers apart from turning the thing on, using the interweb, and turning it off, I don't know what to put in the "User" field ???
I tried the password I was given, then it asked for the password, so I put it in there too, but then I found I was stuck on that black screen as that didn't work, so I had only one option, a forced shut down, which is what I have to do everytime I need to switch this thing off, due to the lack of a start menu.

In order to get on the internet, I switch it on as normal, wait about 40 - 50 seconds until the desktop picture appears, and that's all that happens, no icons, and no start menu, which means I have no way to shut down normally.
I then right click on the background picture, and a small drop down list appears, at the bottom of that list, I click on "Change Background".
That window opens ok, and in the top left corner is a "All Settings" tab. In that window I click the "Diagnostics" tab also in the top left, then in the next window there is a link to a "privacy Policy", and when I click on that, it opens a website for Ubuntu.com, and BINGO ! I'm on the "ol interweb !