Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

knoppix and Modems

This is a discussion on knoppix and Modems within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Can some one tell me how to have Knoppix "Live" CD detect a modem on a pc when using dial-up


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2007, 05:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 20
OS: XP


Send a message via AIM to Mysta1956 Send a message via MSN to Mysta1956 Send a message via Yahoo to Mysta1956

Can some one tell me how to have Knoppix "Live" CD detect a modem on a pc when using dial-up to access the net. The ISP is Aol but when I try to open it from Knoppix, it does nothing.

then I treid to manually set-up the dialup program in knoppix but don't know how to get it to detect the modem installed on the system. Can't query it all.

It's an XP PC.

__________________
Mysta1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 05:48 AM   #2
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysta1956 View Post
Can some one tell me how to have Knoppix "Live" CD detect a modem on a pc when using dial-up to access the net. The ISP is Aol but when I try to open it from Knoppix, it does nothing.

then I treid to manually set-up the dialup program in knoppix but don't know how to get it to detect the modem installed on the system. Can't query it all.

It's an XP PC.
What kind of modem is it? If it's a 'softmodem" or a "WinModem" you might be out of luck.
I'd need to know most importantly what chipset it is, and the brand & model.

__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:12 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 20
OS: XP


Send a message via AIM to Mysta1956 Send a message via MSN to Mysta1956 Send a message via Yahoo to Mysta1956

It's an Intel 537EP modem. Does that help you any? I'm learning Linux, so any help would be appreciated. I Really like what I've seen so far. Is it really "All That?"

Thx.
__________________
Mysta1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:28 AM   #4
K-B
Engines are Afeared of Me
 
K-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 3,140
OS: Windows 7, Windows 8

My System


You're in luck! There's Linux drivers for that modem. Here's a link to the drivers:
http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...inux*&lang=eng

And here's the README installation instructions:
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/df-s...ENG/readme.txt
__________________
K-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 11:47 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 20
OS: XP


Send a message via AIM to Mysta1956 Send a message via MSN to Mysta1956 Send a message via Yahoo to Mysta1956

ok, but can you give me some steps on how to manually set it up. New at Linux and need some help.
__________________
Mysta1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 03:39 AM   #6
Mentally divergent
 
Bartender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA, USA
Posts: 1,341
OS: Ubuntu 9.04, 10.04, XP, 7



mysta -
A couple of years ago, when I first installed a Linux OS to a test PC, I thought I was going to be online in about five minutes, and moving away from Windows roughly one minute later.

It didn't work that way.

First off, as Kyle says, most winmodems don't work with Linux. So I bought a couple of old external Sportster hardware modems on ebay.
Then, I had all kinds of trouble with my ISP, which uses proprietary software to connect. That 5 minutes had now turned into 6 months.
Then, I finally realized that dial-up is just pathetic for Linux. That's because there are so many things you can do to customize your install, but most of that requires large downloads. And you can't (well, it can be done but complicated) just download stuff to a USB thumb drive from someone else's computer then bring it home.

I'm not familiar with how Knoppix works. It runs off the CD, right? I don't know how (or if it's even possible) to add drivers if the Linux OS is running completely off the CD.

If you're still using AOL software to connect, that's going to be the next problem.

My first suggestion is to look into broadband, either DSL or cable. If broadband is unavailable or too expensive, think hard about finding an ISP who doesn't use any proprietary software to get you online, then dropping AOL.
__________________
Bartender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 09:05 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 20
OS: XP


Send a message via AIM to Mysta1956 Send a message via MSN to Mysta1956 Send a message via Yahoo to Mysta1956

That bad, huh? Well, this isn't for me anyway, but I am the one trying to learn Knoppix. Would it be better for me to run the OS from the PC,or continue using the CD? And is there a great difference btwn Knoppix / Linux, or are they the same thing? Confused.
__________________
Mysta1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:36 AM   #8
Mentally divergent
 
Bartender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA, USA
Posts: 1,341
OS: Ubuntu 9.04, 10.04, XP, 7



If the Microsoft monoculture is all you've known, there will be some confusion as you try to wrap your mind around the present state of Linux. Unlike Microsoft, where your only choices are to use the present OS or the previous ones that Microsoft is trying to obsolete as quickly as possible, there are a mind-boggling variety of choices in modern Linux distros.
But it's not as complex as you might think because there are also similarities, and a lot of stuff is shared between distros. For instance, a bunch of distros use OpenOffice as the word processor.

Knoppix is simply a version of Linux that has always been geared towards running off the CD. That's about all I know about Knoppix. I seem to remember reading that if you're going to install to the HDD, there are better choices.

If you scroll back thru the last few weeks or months you'll see plenty of threads discussing solid distros that are suitable for newbs. PCLOS, Ubuntu, Simply Mepis, OpenSUSE, Mint Linux, etc.

__________________
Bartender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynalink (Agere) 1456VQH-T4 not working - scanModem info supplied
I installed my new Dynalink modem and that was fine, but when trying to connect to the net it crashes, it says the modem is unable to respond. Any solutions? _________________________________________- Dynalink product info: The 1456VQH-T4 modem is a 56K Fax/Data/TAM internal PCI controller...
mercuryone Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 0 11-26-2005 08:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts