Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

Installing linux on a blank Hard drive

This is a discussion on Installing linux on a blank Hard drive within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i am trying to install a linux operating system on a computer that used to run windows ME. i am

Old 04-28-2007, 10:01 AM   #1
Registered Member

Roll Eyes

i am trying to install a linux operating system on a computer that used to run windows ME. i am planning to format the hard drive and installing a linux distribution when the hard drive is wiped. would this work. please could somebody guide me through this as i am a complete newbie with this aspect of computers. i also need advice on a linux distribution, (the computer is quite old and runs intel pentium pro as its processor, quite low spec but it could run windows ME relatively easily if this helps). any help would be much appreciated.

Old 04-28-2007, 10:25 AM   #2
Registered Member

My System

Send a message via MSN to Duckster

I'm sorry I can't help you on the lunix portion for I do not use linux BUT formatting the HDD to install linux will/should work.

Old 04-28-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
Mentally divergent

busta -
If you scroll back thru the last few months there are numerous threads regarding older PC's. I just mentioned the "Sweet!" website a coupla days ago.

Generally speaking, the processor isn't as critical as the RAM. I mean, things are going to get markedly slower and slower if we're talking all the way back in the Pentium II's or thereabouts. My old Pentium III 450MHz test box shows its limitations if you start trying to push things at all.

RAM is what really creates a distinct watershed event, as they call it. Less than 256 means you'll have to use an "alternate install" (AT) CD. An AT CD installs Linux. You find out after it's been installed whether it's gonna work or not.