Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

dial up on linux os

This is a discussion on dial up on linux os within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have isp inserted in OS, but can't seem to find a way to activate the dial up function. modem


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2007, 10:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
hogs12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
OS: win xp, sp 2; linux novell 10.1


Send a message via AIM to hogs12 Send a message via Yahoo to hogs12
Question

I have isp inserted in OS, but can't seem to find a way to activate the dial up function. modem is fine, data entry of isp info is fine. Can you help? thanks, hogs

__________________
hogs12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:18 AM   #2
Mentally divergent
 
Bartender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA, USA
Posts: 1,341
OS: Ubuntu 9.04, 10.04, XP, 7



What Linux OS are you using?
What kind of modem do you have?
Who's your ISP?
What country are you in?

__________________
Bartender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 03:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
hogs12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
OS: win xp, sp 2; linux novell 10.1


Send a message via AIM to hogs12 Send a message via Yahoo to hogs12

novell 10.1


not sure of modem, can't find properties on linux

netzero

usa
__________________
hogs12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 05:47 AM   #4
Mentally divergent
 
Bartender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA, USA
Posts: 1,341
OS: Ubuntu 9.04, 10.04, XP, 7



Uh, oh
I don't know anything about Novell

Netzero uses proprietary software to dial, don't they? We're using the old Juno dialer software (long story) and it doesn't work very well in Linux. Sometimes it won't connect, sometimes it does connect but the speed is horrible and we get booted off in 20 minutes. Sometimes I've been able to stay online for an hour or so, don't know why.

Anyways, first thing to do is find a Linux-compatible ISP like Copper.net, BasicISP, ISP.com, etc. Any ISP that doesn't use any proprietary software to allow you access.

I've been keeping a dial-up diary over at Ubuntu Forums. It might give you some ideas.

I use a serial hardware modem (USR 5686's) to go online with Linux.

Try
Code:
lspci
in terminal. I think that command should show you something about your modem.

Are you an experienced Linux user? I'm curious about why you're using a Linux distro that's not more popular. Novell may be a super distro for all I know but the fewer people who use your weapon of choice, the less likely you're going to get fairly specific help if you know what I mean.
__________________
Bartender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts