Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

cannot copy file into ftp connection

This is a discussion on cannot copy file into ftp connection within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My local machine is installed Ubuntu and I want to copy a file (.Doc) to remote ubuntu server using ftp


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
OS: windows xp SP 2



My local machine is installed Ubuntu and I want to copy a file (.Doc) to remote ubuntu server using ftp connection But while I copying a file I get message "There was an error copying the file into ftp://ajkd@x.x.x.x/var/www/html/trainingdpt. When i see the privillages set up to the folders var,www,html,trainingdpt o/s says no privillages are setup. Could you tell me, what is the problem and how solve it.

__________________
Piyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:37 AM   #2
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,172
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


Install gFTP on your local machine. Connect it to your server and then post any error message you see. "No priviliges are setup" is not a message I am familiar with.

__________________
hal8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:33 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Eddie.Dean.19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 75
OS: Arch linux


Quote:
Originally Posted by Piyal
My local machine is installed Ubuntu and I want to copy a file (.Doc) to remote ubuntu server using ftp connection But while I copying a file I get message "There was an error copying the file into ftp://ajkd@x.x.x.x/var/www/html/trainingdpt. When i see the privillages set up to the folders var,www,html,trainingdpt o/s says no privillages are setup. Could you tell me, what is the problem and how solve it.
I suggest removing that whole FTP line from your post. The user and address are not necessary for your problem and you're on public forums....
__________________
Eddie.Dean.19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 09:56 AM   #4
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,172
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie.Dean.19 View Post
I suggest removing that whole FTP line from your post. The user and address are not necessary for your problem and you're on public forums....

Well spotted Eddie, I have masked the public IP address now.
__________________
hal8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct X Problem
When I try to install a new DirectX it says a system error occurred and to refer to the DirectX.log and dtcinstall.log This is the DirectX.log: 08/13/10 11:32:31: DXSetup: CommandLine: /silent 08/13/10 11:32:31: DSETUP: DirectXSetupA(): hWnd: 00000000 dwFlags: 02010098 08/13/10...
travhave Windows XP Support 6 11-28-2011 03:17 PM
computer restarts
computer keeps restarting when I am online. got pc checked fully. no problem. thought usb modem used for dsl connection (speedtouch 330) may be the problem. so shifted to dialup but the problem continues. what can be the problem? am attaching a dump file which was created. would deeply appreciate...
kpsomu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 10-05-2011 11:47 PM
CHKDSK? What is the log saying? Is my SSD data safe?
Checking file system on C: The type of the file system is NTFS. One of your disks needs to be checked for consistency. You may cancel the disk check, but it is strongly recommended that you continue. Windows will now check the disk. CHKDSK is verifying files...
techknight1999 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 09-10-2011 09:12 PM
Help! My laptop is gravely ill
I think I made an error with my previous post asking for help and I guess that's why it's been overlooked. As I can't delete the post I am going to try again with all the rules followed, so hopefully someone can help please? I downloaded ultrasurf and now my laptop is screwed in that it has really...
bobsalvador Resolved HJT Threads 49 06-22-2011 03:44 AM
My pc is messed up ?
Hi guys.. for sometime now i have been getting error messages, e.g firefox has stopped responding. and every program i use i get this message, explorer.exe has stopped working and then it makes the screen flash. i have also been having bsod problems (ntoskml.exe). i have tryed re-installing windows...
iciboy Motherboards, Bios & CPU 29 04-29-2011 12:38 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts