Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Win 98 & ME Support

Installing windows 98 on a dell inspiron 2200

This is a discussion on Installing windows 98 on a dell inspiron 2200 within the Win 98 & ME Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm trying to put windows 98 on my old dell inspiron 2200 laptop. A couple of reasons: a) its a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2007, 05:00 PM   #1
ftr
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
OS: Win XP SP2, Server 2k3 SP2



I'm trying to put windows 98 on my old dell inspiron 2200 laptop. A couple of reasons:

a) its a pile of crap and xp kills it
b) dos support. not keen on relying on dosbox for all my old games

anyway, the problem is that once setup finishes and goes into windows, and starts looking for various drivers... it doesn't see my cd drive.

I tried booting into dos and I went through every letter of the alphabet, it doesn't see it.

I can boot from cd, and from there boot with cd-rom support, but thats just dos off the cd, not the installed windows.

So, anyone any ideas what on earth I can do to fix this? I'm sensing a re-install, I don't mind though

__________________
ftr is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 05:06 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,165
OS: XP, Win 7



Did you delete the existing partitions, create new one(s) and format pior to installing win98?

Old Rich is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 05:07 PM   #3
ftr
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
OS: Win XP SP2, Server 2k3 SP2



yeah, win98 setup formatted the drive for me.

If it helps, its 98SE
__________________
ftr is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 05:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Sgt_Grim_Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 395
OS: XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via MSN to Sgt_Grim_Reaper Send a message via Yahoo to Sgt_Grim_Reaper

XP doesn't use as much memory if you use classic... ah well. I would look online to see if there are 98SE drivers for your drive, if there is you should find a setup that'll walk you through the process... if no drivers, your best bet is to create one or reinstall XP. I wouldn't recommend trying unless you're 'gifted'.
__________________
Sgt_Grim_Reaper is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 05:23 PM   #5
ftr
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
OS: Win XP SP2, Server 2k3 SP2



No, I don't plan trying to write my own drivers lol, certainly not got that sort of coding skill!

Well I guess XP & DosBox are my best bet then...

__________________
ftr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts