Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Win 98 & ME Support

Can't read CD-RW disks

This is a discussion on Can't read CD-RW disks within the Win 98 & ME Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a couple of disks containing photos (used Nero 5) and one Backup disk containing programs. Although previously being


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2005, 08:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe



I have a couple of disks containing photos (used Nero 5) and one Backup disk containing programs.

Although previously being able to read these, I am now unable to do so!
I run Windows Me and have upgraded to Nero 6. Other than that I am unaware of any other changes. The CD-Rom does read game disks and Manufacturer's programme disks.

Any suggestions please?

__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 09:08 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Hello and Welcome to TSF

Have you tried to read the disc from another computer to determine if it is readable?
I don't see what upgrading to Nero6 would have anything to do with it, Nero is not reading it your computer is.
When you have it in the cd drive go to My Computer and try to open it or explore it. Are you recieving any error messages?

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 09:38 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe


I have tried them on a different computer with the same results. When checking the disk's properties, it shows that all the space is used, however does not show its contents.
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:50 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Was the disc placed in a safe area to avoid damage to it?
I'd say the disc either got scratched or heat got to it.........
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe


I am not sure why it should affect 3 of my disks. Bit of a coincidence, isn't it?
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:11 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notlob
Posts: 5,441
OS: Vista Ultimate

My System

Were they written using a standard burn, or using Nero's InCD? If it was InCD, make sure you've installed it (you may have left it out when you moved to v6)
__________________
Chevy is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe


They were burnt using InCD. Is it as simple as reloading InCD?
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 07:41 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notlob
Posts: 5,441
OS: Vista Ultimate

My System

It may be. If the CD wasn't properly closed, then you would need the InCD program to be able to read them.
__________________
Chevy is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 01:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe


Evil

I have reloaded In-cd, but am still unable to read the CD's in question.

I have used a function within Nero, namely "Autodetect CD-Rom", which does not appear to work. It keeps looking for my ordinary CD-Rom and not my writer.

Could this have something to do with my problem?
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:35 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


how many roms do you have?
in your device manager, does it show your burner?
uninstall nero completly and reinstall
goodluck
__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 02:38 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe


I have uninstalled and re-installed Nero as suggested, but my problem persists.
I have 2 CD-Roms, both of which are shown, namely Drive D is my CD-Rom (Master) and Drive E is my writer (Slave). I have tried them with MAster/slave reversed, but again the problem has prevailed!
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:53 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Lectraplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 529
OS: Win-XP, Debian/Sarge, and SuSI 9.1


Send a message via AIM to Lectraplayer
I'm thinking your disks may be bad. Sometimes, expecially with el-chiepo disks, things may happen such as the aluminum foil starts to peel off, and you may not be able to see that anything's wrong, even under close analysis. ...but sometimes, you will see a small "lighter" spot that moves when you push on it from the label side. My Windows ME disk has this defect, though it is legal and come with a keycode. ...and I've also had a Linux CD that went bad and I never saw anything wrong with it. Look at your CD's very closely to see if they have any bubbles or anything.
__________________
Finally, killed the Window! Microsoft free, baby!!
Lectraplayer is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:13 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe



The disks I have used are Philips and Memorex. I am a novice when it comes to electronics, but it does not seem logical, and an unlikely coincidence that these disks should all become unreadable at the same time!

I have only copied to these disks once, so I could have a backup. It is certainly not a case of using them all the time.

Perhaps my logic is too simple?
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:11 PM   #14
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,329
OS: Win7-64

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by muhkau
When checking the disk's properties, it shows that all the space is used, however does not show its contents.
I'm not sure if this will work, and it doesn't solve the underlying problem, but it might get your data back...

Try making a disk-copy from a bad CD to make an ISO or NRG image, then burn it to a new CD, this time using Nero instead of In-CD.
__________________

watch?v=V4H5PFGr03Q
koala is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 02:49 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe



I tried copying but got the following message: "It looks like both your source and your destination for the “on the fly” copy process are connected to the same IDE bus. We would strongly recommend to connect your source and the destination drive to different IDE busses." Is this the problem? How do I change this?
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 04:12 PM   #16
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,329
OS: Win7-64

My System

Again, this is not a fix for your problem, just an idea you might want to play about with until someone comes along with a solution.

You get this error message when your cdrom and cd-burner are on the same IDE channel as master and slave, and you try to copy "on the fly". This setup can lead to problems. Does your cd-burner support buffer underrun protection?

Try turning off the "on the fly" option and make an NRG image on your hard drive like this:

Nero 6
Recorder > Choose Recorder > Image Recorder
Recorder > Copy Disc > Copy Options... uncheck 'on the fly' and select your CD drive, the one with the bad CD in.
Click Copy to make an exact copy of your bad CD onto your hard drive.
When that's done go back to Choose Recorder and select your cd-burner drive, go to Recorder > Burn Image and see if the data tranfers onto the new CD.

Good luck and I hope this hasn't diverted your attention away from what could be a hardware problem.

EDIT: btw, I thought Chevy's idea of reinstalling In-CD would work. I used to have a Hewlett Packard cd-burner that came with similar packet writing software and all the CDs I made using it had the same problem you're experiencing... until I reinstalled it and right-clicked the drive icon in Explorer to activate something. Wish I could remember what it was
__________________

watch?v=V4H5PFGr03Q
koala is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:21 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
OS: WinMe



It was a simple solution in the end! I noticed that I had used InCD UDF format when burning the disks, but had not re-installed the UDF reader - oh dear!!

Thank you for all your help and advice, it was much appreciated!
__________________
muhkau is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:35 PM   #18
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notlob
Posts: 5,441
OS: Vista Ultimate

My System

Check popst #6 ..
__________________
Chevy is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:43 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


Quote:
Were they written using a standard burn, or using Nero's InCD? If it was InCD, make sure you've installed it (you may have left it out when you moved to v6)
lol

you mean way up there?

__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:35 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by muhkau
I have a couple of disks containing photos (used Nero 5) and one Backup disk containing programs.

Although previously being able to read these, I am now unable to do so!
I run Windows Me and have upgraded to Nero 6. Other than that I am unaware of any other changes. The CD-Rom does read game disks and Manufacturer's programme disks.

Any suggestions please?
Try to make iso image from CD with magiciso.

http://www.magiciso.com/

__________________
forkart is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts