Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Win 98 & ME Support

C drive running out of space

This is a discussion on C drive running out of space within the Win 98 & ME Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, for some reason my C drive continues to fill up even though I don't add any new programs. I've


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2004, 06:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



Hi, for some reason my C drive continues to fill up even though I don't add any new programs. I've run Disk Cleanup and increased the size of my virtual memory, but it still fills up rather quickly. Several weeks ago I had about 175MB free and now it tells me I've got about 6MB free. What gives? Any ideas? If you need more info just ask and I'll get it for you.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Tom

__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 06:11 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


Please download HijackThis. Create a folder at C:\HJT and move HijackThis.exe there. Run a scan and save the log file. Post the whole log file here. Do not fix anything since most of them listed there are harmless (some are system required). This program will help us determine if there is any spyware/malware on your computer.

And before you post that log, do this:

The Temp folders should be cleaned out periodically as installation programs and hijack programs leave a lot of junk there. Download Index.dat Suite to clean out all the temp folders. Run Index.dat Suite now and go to Tools->Settings. Then make sure to check the following: Cookies, History, Recent Documents, Swap File (if you have Windows 95/98), Temporary Internet Files and Temp Files. Click Save at the bottom. Then click on the Find button. Let it search. Then click on the second button on the top. This will generate a batch file. Click Next->Next->Next and it will tell you that after the next reboot/restart the file should run by itself and clean out the temp folders. To make sure it's cleaned out, go into My Computer->C: Drive and double click on the run.bat file. After that you may delete that file if you want.

__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 06:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME


Hi. Thank you for the prompt response. I downloaded and tried to install the Index.dat suite, but was not able to install it due to a lack of space on the C drive even though I put the program in another drive. Is there any other way to clean up the files you mentioned? I currently use Spybot and AdAwareSE if that makes any difference. I'll get to the Hijack log later.

Thanks again,

Tom
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 06:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



Here's what I got:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 9:46:13 PM, on 11/7/2004
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IVASION\WINPOET\WINPPPOVERETHERNET.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
E:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\NETSCAPE\NETSCP.EXE
C:\HJT\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.searchbar.com/
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - J:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - I:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - J:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinPoET] C:\Program Files\iVasion\WinPoET\WinPPPoverEthernet.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegShave] C:\Progra~1\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C84 Series] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S4I2D1.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C84 Series" /O27 "\\Winxp-6c32enzg8\epson c84" /M "Stylus C84"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Machine Debug Manager] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
O9 - Extra button: Dell Home - {63D9F689-FA15-4ECF-91BC-C4D0734E14EA} - http://www.dellepro.com/corporate (file missing) (HKCU)
O16 - DPF: {11260943-421B-11D0-8EAC-0000C07D88CF} (iPIX ActiveX Control) - http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab
O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0000-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.0_01) -
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/S...in/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/S.../bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {413D6754-BFD4-47FE-9346-319559290BFA} (HTECtrl Class) - http://www.webpcfos.com/webpcfos/websabre/HTEweb.cab
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



Well, I got some more space on C: and installed and ran the Index.dat suite as suggested. I'm now up to a whopping 63mb of free space on C: I have no idea what continues to eat up the space I free up. Would Norton AntiVirus be a possible cause?

Thanks in advance for any further help you can give.

Tom
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:48 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


Welp, log's not too bad, but a few fixes are recommended below. The stuff you cleaned out is obviously your Internet Temp files. You need to clean that cache as often as you can. Also, System Restore takes up disk space, as it saves various restore points over time. After turning this off per the instructions below, try deleting the C:\_Restore folder and see what you save (it will be re-created by Windows when re-enabled).

===================

Please print out or copy this page to Notepad. Make sure to work through the fixes in the exact order it is mentioned below. If there's anything that you don't understand, ask your question(s) before proceeding with the fixes. You should not have any open browsers when you are following the procedures below.

Go to My Computer->Tools/View->Folder Options->View tab and make sure that 'Show hidden files and folders' (or 'Show all files') is enabled. Also make sure that Display the contents of System Folders' is checked. Windows XP's search feature is a little different. When you click on 'All files and folders' on the left pane, click on the 'More advanced options' at the bottom. Make sure that Search system folders, Search hidden files and folders, and Search subfolders are checked.

Go to Start->Settings->Control Panel and double-click on the System icon. On the Performance tab click File System. Click the Troubleshooting tab, and then check Disable System Restore. Click OK. Click Yes, when you are prompted to restart Windows. When we have confirmed that your log file is clean, you may enable System Restore again by following the same steps as above except you should uncheck Disable System Restore .

Reboot into Safe Mode (hit F8 key until menu shows up).

Run a scan in HijackThis. Check each of the following and hit 'Fix checked' (after checking them) if they still exist (make sure not to miss any):

O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
O9 - Extra button: Dell Home - {63D9F689-FA15-4ECF-91BC-C4D0734E14EA} - http://www.dellepro.com/corporate (file missing) (HKCU)

Delete the following Files/Folders (delete folders if no filename is specified) according to their directory (if none, just do a search for them) and delete them if they exist:

PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe

Reboot into Normal Mode and post a new HijackThis log file so we can make sure it's clean.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:06 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



In my WinME Folder Option >> View area I do not have a "Display the contents of System Folders" selection. Is there another name for it?

Tom
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:18 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


You can just proceed on and post a new log when done.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 03:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



After disabling System Restore I restarted Windows as required. I then read the next direction (Reboot into Safe Mode) and did it. However, I stopped there because I'm not sure if I should have gone into Safe Mode during the restart or restarted, shut down, and then booted up in Safe Mode as I did. I then went back to normal mode to write this question. So the question is should I have gone into Safe Mode during the restart or do as I did? And how do I continue now that I've gone into Safe Mode (didn't do anything though) and back to normal mode?

Sorry about the screw up.

Tom
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 03:21 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


Hi Tom.....no worries. At this point, reboot into Safe Mode and proceed with directions.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 04:34 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



Well, I've accomplished all the tasks and here is the log. As of now I have 52.8MB of space on my c: drive. Let me know if there is anything else I can or should do.

Thank you for all your help.

Tom


Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 7:32:15 PM, on 11/8/2004
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IVASION\WINPOET\WINPPPOVERETHERNET.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
C:\HJT\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.searchbar.com/
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - J:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - I:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - J:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinPoET] C:\Program Files\iVasion\WinPoET\WinPPPoverEthernet.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegShave] C:\Progra~1\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C84 Series] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S4I2D1.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C84 Series" /O27 "\\Winxp-6c32enzg8\epson c84" /M "Stylus C84"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Machine Debug Manager] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O16 - DPF: {11260943-421B-11D0-8EAC-0000C07D88CF} (iPIX ActiveX Control) - http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab
O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0000-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.0_01) -
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/S...in/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/S.../bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {413D6754-BFD4-47FE-9346-319559290BFA} (HTECtrl Class) - http://www.webpcfos.com/webpcfos/websabre/HTEweb.cab
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 06:38 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Lectraplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 529
OS: Win-XP, Debian/Sarge, and SuSI 9.1


Send a message via AIM to Lectraplayer
Also try a spyware nuker. You may have spyware/adware/virus or something that keeps bringing stuff in to fill the disk up. Very annoying, but it happens.
__________________
Finally, killed the Window! Microsoft free, baby!!
Lectraplayer is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 07:03 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



I'm using AdAwareSE and Spybot Search and Destroy. Are you talking about some other type of spyware software?

Thanks,

Tom
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 03:38 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



I booted up this morning and got the message that System Restore was not active because there wasn't enough disk space. Somehow System Restore enabled itself since I didn't turn it back on after disabling it yesterday. Also, I got the low disk space notification and after clean up I have 40mb of space available today. Here's a Hijack log from this morning.

Thanks again...

Tom




Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 6:40:57 AM, on 11/9/2004
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\IVASION\WINPOET\WINPPPOVERETHERNET.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
E:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\NETSCAPE\NETSCP.EXE
C:\HJT\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.searchbar.com/
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - J:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - I:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - J:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinPoET] C:\Program Files\iVasion\WinPoET\WinPPPoverEthernet.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RegShave] C:\Progra~1\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C84 Series] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_S4I2D1.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C84 Series" /O27 "\\Winxp-6c32enzg8\epson c84" /M "Stylus C84"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Machine Debug Manager] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O16 - DPF: {11260943-421B-11D0-8EAC-0000C07D88CF} (iPIX ActiveX Control) - http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab
O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0000-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.0_01) -
O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/S...in/AvSniff.cab
O16 - DPF: {644E432F-49D3-41A1-8DD5-E099162EEEC5} (Symantec RuFSI Utility Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/S.../bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {413D6754-BFD4-47FE-9346-319559290BFA} (HTECtrl Class) - http://www.webpcfos.com/webpcfos/websabre/HTEweb.cab
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 04:02 AM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


Welp, your log is clean. Looking back at your logs, you relly never turned it off. I believe you may have gotten a step or two off about 3-4 posts ago.

As far as your space goes, surf around your machine and look at the files. Do a search for files over 1MB see what's there, empty C:\Windows\Temp directory, uninstall some apps you don't use. I don't know enough about what size HD you started with and cannot see your machine to help fully.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 11:57 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
OS: WinME



I appreciate all your help. It has given me some ideas and I'll keep working on the problem. One last question. How many megabytes (MB) in a kilobyte (KB)? My search function gives me size in KB's.

Thanks,

Tom
__________________
thfrazer is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 03:33 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 137
OS: windows xp


I'm glad CTSNKY was able to help you clean the "garbage" off your system. However, you're still in a decision making situation. Your OS drive needs some room to operate efficiently. You said you INCREASED your virtual memory. You merely made your paging file larger ..... which is stored on your hard drive. You can change the size of your IE explorer cache by going into tools, internet options, settings and change the size of your "temporary internet folder." I have almost 40 gig free on my OS drive but I only use a 70 mb internet cache. You can use less too if you'd like. PC Pit stop in their full system test recommends this value to be at least 2mbs but not more than 70. This will help control how much of your drive is eaten up by temporary internet files. There are other things you can do .... you've already been instructed to uninstall unused programs. Disk clean-up will give you some extra options too.

However, its time to consider whether or not you want to replace your system drive. You mentioned a slave drive (drive E) .... if its significantly larger you can transfer your system drive over to drive E using drive transfer software. Then use your current C: as your slave. To do that, you'll have to open up your computer and change your hard drive jumpers to reflect the new configuration though.

If the "condition of your wallet" allows you to .... consider buying a new larger hard drive and using that as your system drive. This is probably the best solution if you can afford it. I've been in your shoes. I've filled up drives and have resorted to ALL of the options I gave you at one point of time or another.
__________________
HaViNaBaDdAy is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:50 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Lectraplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 529
OS: Win-XP, Debian/Sarge, and SuSI 9.1


Send a message via AIM to Lectraplayer
I'm kinda with I'm-Havin'-A-Birthday on this one. Get the largest drive you can afford. Also try uninstalling all your programs off your C: drive (Windows drive) and reinstalling onto your slave drive (what I do) before you buy a new drive. Also, about 128MB of virtual memory should be good. The file used for this is WIN386.SWP, so you should never bother that file. The size of this file will be the same thing you set for your virtual memory because, well, it is your virtual memory.

btw: there are 1024 kB in 1 MB, but 1000 KB in 1 MB is a good starting point. The diference is because numbers are gotten based off of raising two to a number (technical and pretty irrelivant for our purposes, we'll skip it for now).

__________________
Finally, killed the Window! Microsoft free, baby!!
Lectraplayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts