Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

[SOLVED] Steam installation problem?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Steam installation problem? within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I used to have steam on my computer, then I uninstalled it now I'm trying to install it and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Mike202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
OS: XP


Evil

So I used to have steam on my computer, then I uninstalled it now I'm trying to install it and it keeps saying this:Error 1327: invalid drive E/:
So I tried contacting steam support, and all their solutions did not work :(

__________________
Mike202 is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 06:38 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
cl0udedth0ught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


It sounds like your are pointing it to your E: drive which is inaccessable to install to or perhaps doesn't have enough space. When you click on "my computer" what drive letters do you see? Was the E: drive a flash drive or external drive you had plugged in through usb? Usually your C: drive includes your windows installation and installation of all software (including steam) for most people. When you go through the installation, maybe try pointing the installation to a different drive.

__________________
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 03:57 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Mike202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by cl0udedth0ught View Post
It sounds like your are pointing it to your E: drive which is inaccessable to install to or perhaps doesn't have enough space. When you click on "my computer" what drive letters do you see? Was the E: drive a flash drive or external drive you had plugged in through usb? Usually your C: drive includes your windows installation and installation of all software (including steam) for most people. When you go through the installation, maybe try pointing the installation to a different drive.
Sorry that I didn't mention this before. Right when the install wizard pops up the 1327 error thing pops up and unable to install
__________________
Mike202 is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 08:34 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Headpred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 419
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System


I agree with cloudedthought. Steam is still in your registry and being told that it belongs on E: drive which you may have disconnected or removed completely.
You could try the Steam Fix tool to see if this resolves it. If not post back here and we can give you instructions to manually fix it.
__________________
SIW

Revo Uninstaller
Headpred is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 03:44 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
tsujp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I wish it was Japan.
Posts: 326
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit OEM

My System


Hey Mike202,

In addition to Headpred's suggestion you could try the following method:

Install Steam on a drive that is on your machine (assuming this works, you very vague :D) and then move the "Steam" folder to your new desired destination.

You should delete all files in the "Steam" folder except for "Steamapps" and the executable. Steam will automatically re download the new files and everything should work as it normally would.

This is explained further on Valve's support site for Steam.

Good luck,

tsujp
tsujp is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 04:49 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 328
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



Use a software called Revo Uninstaller Pro to completely remove Steam from your PC and then try reinstalling. Traces of it in the Registry might be causing this problem.

Right click the drive in which you want to install Steam, then click on Properties and see that there is enough disk space for the installation. Try installing on another drive and see if the error persists.
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 03:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Mike202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
OS: XP



nonononononononono. None of your suggestions work... :( Revo uninstall dont work, removing all but steamapps dont work, steam fix dont work.
__________________
Mike202 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


Have you tried doing what suggested in the help section:


Windows Vista/7: Click Start, then type "regedit" in the Start Search Bar and press enter.
Windows XP: Click Start > Run, then type "regedit" in the Run dialog and press Enter.
Navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\.
Right-click on 9C8928403D4AB094F99FBA20A329833F and select "Delete." Click Yes.
64-bit Windows: Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
32-bit Windows: Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
Right-click on {048298C9-A4D3-490B-9FF9-AB023A9238F3} and select "Delete." Click Yes.

?
__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 04:10 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Mike202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by A1tecice View Post
Have you tried doing what suggested in the help section:


Windows Vista/7: Click Start, then type "regedit" in the Start Search Bar and press enter.
Windows XP: Click Start > Run, then type "regedit" in the Run dialog and press Enter.
Navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\.
Right-click on 9C8928403D4AB094F99FBA20A329833F and select "Delete." Click Yes.
64-bit Windows: Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
32-bit Windows: Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
Right-click on {048298C9-A4D3-490B-9FF9-AB023A9238F3} and select "Delete." Click Yes.

?
Nope. Can't find the 9C8928403D4AB094F99FBA20A329833F in the directory you put.
__________________
Mike202 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 05:01 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Mike202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
OS: XP



To make it clear, when i start up the installation, before it asks where to install the error pops up
__________________
Mike202 is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 12:42 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
tsujp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I wish it was Japan.
Posts: 326
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit OEM

My System


Alrighty.

There are a few more things we can try:

1. Open command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd.exe)
  • With command prompt open type: subst F: E:\
  • E:\ can be any drive and you should use the one you are having problems with, so in this case that would be E:\
  • This command will clone your drive so once you are done type: subst X: /D with X: being the name of the new cloned drive. If it clones E:\ and produces another called G:\ then the command would be subst G: /D

2. The solution outlined in this thread.

3. A possible solution outlined by this user on the Steam forums:
src: Steam error: 1327 Invalid E: Drive - Steam Users' Forums
Quote:
Originally Posted by nubseeeE
SOLUTION

1. Download the "steaminstall.msi" file from steampowered.com.

2. Use 7-zip (7-Zip) to extract steaminstall.msi to a folder "steaminstall" on your desktop (as an example).

3. Rename this folder to "Steam" -> Right-click the folder -> Click Rename -> type in Steam and press <enter>

4. This folder is now your new Steam-folder, but you wouldn't want your Steam-folder to stay on your desktop.
Move it to any folder or non-removable drive on your computer -> Right-click the new "Steam" folder -> Click Cut -> navigate to your destination drive or folder and right-click and click Paste.

5. In this new "Steam" folder, there's a file calles "steam.exe1". Rename this file to "Steam.exe" and run it.

6. Let Steam do it's update routines and log-in and let it update the Steam-interface.

7. Close down Steam and replace the entire "steamapps" folder within your new Steam-folder, with the "steamapps" folder on your external drive or where your previous installation of Steam was.

8. Restart Steam and set your particular games to "always keep this game uptodate". Re-install your games via Steam if necessary and you will only have to download very minor stuff and they'll be working again.


I got this error-1327 as my harddrive with Steam on it, died. It wasn't possible to re-install, uninstall or do anything, but I found out that the solution above works with no problems.

I did try with Registry Mechanic to clean up the leftovers from Steam, but that didn't help either.

Windows Install Cleanup (How to uninstall or remove Microsoft Office 2010 suites) did remove the installation from the control panel's "add/remove programs" / "programs and features" list but it still wouldn't let me re-install Steam.
Good luck!

tsujp
tsujp is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 01:33 AM   #12
Team Manager, Gaming
 
RockmasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 7,196
OS: Windows 7 SP1 64 bit

My System


just a simple question:

do you have an "E" Drive showing in "Computer" Folder?
__________________



!!Please do not PM me about Tech Support!!
RockmasteR is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:45 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Mike202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by tsujp View Post
Alrighty.

There are a few more things we can try:


1. Open command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd.exe)
  • With command prompt open type: subst F: E:\
  • E:\ can be any drive and you should use the one you are having problems with, so in this case that would be E:\
  • This command will clone your drive so once you are done type: subst X: /D with X: being the name of the new cloned drive. If it clones E:\ and produces another called G:\ then the command would be subst G: /D
2. The solution outlined in this thread.

3. A possible solution outlined by this user on the Steam forums:
src: Steam error: 1327 Invalid E: Drive - Steam Users' Forums


Good luck!

tsujp
If there was a smily jumping for joy, there would be 100 lines of it in this post.
__________________
Mike202 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 12:13 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
tsujp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I wish it was Japan.
Posts: 326
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit OEM

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike202 View Post
If there was a smily jumping for joy, there would be 100 lines of it in this post.
I'm glad you solved it :D

Enjoy gaming!

tsujp

tsujp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with network cable
Well, at the moment I'm using wireless internet on my pc but I think it's causing BSOD all the time. So I want to try if I still get the BSOD when I use a cable. (More info here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f299/bsod-help-please-630232.html) The problem is I don't get any connection...
yourking Networking Support 5 03-22-2012 12:59 PM
PSU problem?
Hello everyone. If i'm not in the right category for this post, pardon me, and feel free to move it. First of all, I bought my build some weeks ago. My build consist of: Power Supply: Newegg.ca - Antec TruePower New TP-750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V V2.91 SLI Certified...
Doomer3003 Building 1 03-14-2012 05:52 AM
Time to Fix This Problem Once and For All
Hello, I know very little about IT, and if this is not the correct place for posting such a thread, please feel free to move me. I have had this problem for almost a year now, and it is really starting to get on my nerves. Most of the time, my internet is fine, but once in a while, and...
Humbabwe Networking Support 9 03-13-2012 02:30 PM
[SOLVED] Open Cart Problem
I got a massive problem, I got open cart, I put it under maitence and I am having accessing the admin panel. Is there a way to turn off Maintence mode via cpanel
konradgoat Web Design & Development 1 03-13-2012 01:59 PM
[SOLVED] Ipod Touch 2g Authorization problem
Last week was forced to reinstall my entire W7 operating system and so lost my itunes list. It IS on my ipod. When I tried to synch it warned me it would erase the ipod and replace with music in itunes--it currently does not have my library. How do I restore it? I cannot find the backup.
Arthur Fox Apple iOS 2 03-13-2012 01:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts