Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

[SOLVED] Sims Safari

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Sims Safari within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys, My son uninstalled sim safari from my computer and now it will not work. It worked before he


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2005, 11:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
OS: XP


Confused

Hi Guys,

My son uninstalled sim safari from my computer and now it will not work. It worked before he uninstalled it. Now it will not let me install it. I get the following error message windows/system32/autoexec.nt. Any suggestions would be gratefully received.

Cheers

__________________
mollymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 07:45 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,381
OS: Win7-64

My System

Sometimes older games like Sim Safari cause problems with WinXP.
Microsoft has a solution here http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;324767

I don't know how experienced you are with PCs, so if it looks too complicated, just post back and we'll try and simplify it for you.

Basically, what you need to do is get a working copy of the AUTOEXEC.NT file and put it in your C:/Windows/System 32 folder.

Alternatively, there's a small program that does all the hard work for you.
Go here http://www.visualtour.com/downloads and scroll down to XP_FIX.EXE

__________________

watch?v=V4H5PFGr03Q
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 06:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
OS: XP


Grin

Thanks for the info, I'll give it a try and see what happens.

Mollymoo
__________________
mollymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2005, 06:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
OS: XP


Thumbs Up

Thanks Koala your a STAR I donwloaded the xpfix exe and sim safari now works. My son will be over the moon.

Cheers
Mollymoo
__________________
mollymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 06:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Ok new challenge, my dad wants to install SimSafari on his laptop. However, i just installed Windows 7 on his laptop. When I try to install it for him it doesn't do anything, so I looked in the process tab of the Task Manager and the processes that show up when I click on the setup are only in the processes for maybe 3 sec and then they disappear. I have tried running it in compatibility all the way back to 98. anyone have any ideas?
__________________
qjfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 09:12 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Ok, never mind, a simple restart was enough for it to work >.<

__________________
qjfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts