Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Shader Model 1.1 Installation

This is a discussion on Shader Model 1.1 Installation within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have the game Company of Heroes that I cannot install because I don't have shader model 1.1 Installation. Please


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2009, 06:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Window XP



I have the game Company of Heroes that I cannot install because I don't have shader model 1.1 Installation. Please could you let me know what this means and what I need to do
Sally Anne Gaunt

__________________
sagaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:14 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,281
OS: Win7-64

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

Shader Model 1.1 is a feature found on your graphics card, not some software you can download and install.

The error probably means that your graphics card (or onboard graphics chip) does not meet the game's minimum requirements, so the only solution is to upgrade.

What graphics card and motherboard do you have?

__________________

watch?v=CBVFpYN0iNo
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:15 PM   #3
BoT
TSF Enthusiast
 
BoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: earth
Posts: 539
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Pro x64

My System


what graphics card/ processor do you have or do you use?
did you install any graphics drivers yet?
shader models is a technology that has been introduced about 5 years ago and the current model is 3.0. all current graphics processors units (GPU) support shader models but often need drivers to support/ enable them
__________________
BoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 07:22 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 8,847
OS: Ubuntu 12 LTS; Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; XP SP3 32-bit; Puppy Linux 3.4.1 32-bit

My System


Actually the current shader model is 4.0.

Anyway, the only way to get a card to run that is to buy a new one, Nvidia 6 series has Shader Model 3.0 and the rest have 3.5 or 4.0
__________________
-WOLF- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 06:41 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
OS: vista



so then where can we get it free online or something because i mhave the same problem with the same game
__________________
marco743 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 06:58 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,281
OS: Win7-64

My System


It's not something you can download. It's a feature on the graphics card, so if your current card or onboard doesn't support shader 1.1 you need to upgrade.

Is your graphics driver up to date? Or if you're using onboard graphics, are your motherboard chipset drivers up to date?

What graphics device are you using?

__________________

watch?v=CBVFpYN0iNo
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts