Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support


Random freezes...

This is a discussion on Random freezes... within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2007, 06:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



My friend and I just built him a new computer. Most of the time it runs just fine, but whenever we play a game it will freeze at random times. We have tried several different games including Medieval 2, Battlefield 2142 and Titan Quest. There doesn't really seem to be any consistant timing with the freezes. Sometimes you can play for 5 minutes and sometimes for a few hours. His specs are as follows:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+(65W) Windsor 2.4GHz Socket AM2 Processor
MoBo: ECS KN3 SLI2 (1.0) Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

HD:SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

GPU: BIOSTAR V7602GS51 GeForce 7600GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card

RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 Dual Channel

Case+PSU: RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black SECC STEEL ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply

DVD: SONY Black IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model DDU1615/B2s and LITE-ON 18X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model LH-18A1P-185

Wireless Card: Belkin Wireles G Desktop Card

Any help will be much appreciated.
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2007, 07:06 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


raidmax power supply would be my first guess.have you downloaded and installed the amd dual core optimizer,and driver.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 07:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



Just installed the optimizer. Will test it tonight and will post with results tomorrow. Thanks.
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:58 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



We've had the same problems after installing the optimizer and driver last night. The random freezes still take place. On top of that we encountered a few BSOD. One error message was IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. The other was IRQ_NOT_DISPATCH_LEVEL. The third one was PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA. Also we had several random reboots. That sounds like the psu like you mentioned, but would the psu cause these other problems?
Also, if this topic is better for another section of the site just let me know.

Thanks for the help.
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:58 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


are your windows fully up to date,and have you installed any patches for the game if there are any.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 08:27 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



First thing we did was install windows update. BF 2142 has the latest patch. M:TW and Titan Quest are straight off the disk. It happens in pretty much any game we run.
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 10:56 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


try this http://www.techsupportforum.com/arti...rsviewpro.html ,and report on your temps as well as voltages.also run memtest
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 12:06 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



Well, here's the screen shot of temps and voltages. He didn't order a floppy drive for whatever reason, so I'll have to install one tomorrow to run memtest.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp screenshot.bmp (1.37 MB, 27 views)
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 09:46 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


those voltages are unusual make sure to check all your power supply hook ups.the 3.3 volt is reading 1.79,and one of the cpu cores is reading3.36.list the brand,and specs of the power supply.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 11:18 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



PSU: Raidmax Model No: 500S (KY-600ATX) ATX12V

It came stock with the case so thats all the info I have on it.
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 01:35 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
OS: Windows XP



There hasn't been a BSOD for the past day or so just the random restarts, no set pattern either does it if just sitting idle or gaming. Power supply most likely then?
MaximumRockage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 01:40 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


if that program is reading your voltages correctly.id say the power supply is the problem.the 3.3 was way out of spec.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 08:28 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP



Got a new psu updated sensorview and the it still reads the same voltages and has the occasional freeze but the restarts are the most annoying it will just restart for no reason with no bsod and no error message. The new psu is an atx12v ver 2.2 & eps12v Compliant 600w
mcpowell04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 09:11 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP



New screenshot
Attached Images
File Type: bmp scrren 2.bmp (1.37 MB, 12 views)
mcpowell04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 10:57 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumRockage View Post
Well, here's the screen shot of temps and voltages. He didn't order a floppy drive for whatever reason, so I'll have to install one tomorrow to run memtest.
no you dont i boot memtest from a cd.they have directions on there site for that.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Random Freezes
I recently put together a new desktop system. It was going fine from April to late June. Then suddenly it starts freezing at random. The hardware does not shut down, but the screen freezes and no more input/output from the hardware. There is never an error message from Windows, which I use only to...
Crazy88 Other Hardware Support 9 09-11-2007 07:15 AM
Random freezes during games.
Hi. I use my computer mostly for gaming and so I built it (or tried to build it) specifically for that. I play World of Warcraft 90% of the time I am on this machine. My system randomly freezes at times, without warning. The times it freezes are completely random and give me no clue as to what...
godofimpiety Windows Servers 9 01-26-2006 04:36 PM
Random Freezes
Hi everybody, Recently I have been expericing some random lockups/freezes/reboots. In a variety of programs and games it will often freeze for 1 minute or so. Sometimes it unlocks and I can continue to play. Other times it completely freezes and I have to manually reboot. Sometimes it reboots by...
rt99 Windows XP Support 6 08-20-2005 01:48 PM
random freezes?
My computer is about 2.5 years old, and in the last month i've been experiencing random freezes. No BSOD's or anything, just frozen motion, resulting in a reboot. I'm running an Athlon tbird 1.33 ghz at a cool 29 degrees with windows xp. I have no idea what is causing the random lockups. I even...
zcmack Windows XP Support 11 10-17-2003 02:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com