Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Old Game - Star Trek Armada I - Problems with Windows 7

This is a discussion on Old Game - Star Trek Armada I - Problems with Windows 7 within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am trying to run the very old but classic game Star Trek Armada on a computer running Windows

Old 09-08-2009, 02:46 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello,

I am trying to run the very old but classic game Star Trek Armada on a computer running Windows 7. I had no problems installing or booting up the game (in Windows 98/ME compatibility mode), but when I actually attempt to play the game the loading screen flickers back and forth for a few second and then the game crashes. Re-installing the game has had no effect to the issue. I'm not completely computer illiterate, but I'm not very tech savvy either so I've come here for help. Any assistance or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Old 09-08-2009, 02:50 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

If it's DOS based, it probably won't run. You might try dosbox and see if that works.

Old 09-08-2009, 04:38 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast

My System

Hi and welcome to TSF. Star Trek Armada is a very old game and I'm afraid it isn't compatible with any of the newer operating systems.

If you have a computer with Windows 98 installed on it, then you can play Armada on that. Other than that, I think you're out of luck.
Old 09-08-2009, 09:04 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus

You can also try using Virtual PC or VirtualBox, but there's no guarantee that they will solve the issue.

I've tried running Armada on various Windows versions, and I've found the only way to get it working 100% properly is to install it on a Windows 98 system.
Old 09-09-2009, 06:55 AM   #5
Team Manager, Gaming

My System

if you don't have the Windows 98 CD you won't be able to use Virtualbox,
you can try Dosbox, it's a freeware that emulates Dos into windows
download it from here: