Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

My new pc is crashing while playing games

This is a discussion on My new pc is crashing while playing games within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.

Old 02-17-2017, 11:03 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi, I posted this on another forum but no one really helped me so I'm hoping someone here can! I will start with my specs/parts:

i5 6600k ~3.5Ghz
MSI 170-a Pro Motherboard
EVGA 550Watt Gold PSU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 8GB Windforce OC
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8GB Ram DDR4
Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

I recently built this PC by myself (it's my first time doing something like this btw) and I seemed to have no apparent problems once I set everything up. However, when I try to play Ark I crash after 10-20mins, sometimes it takes less time etc. 2 of the times I crashed I had a really weird long obnoxious buzzing noise coming out from the speakers and caps lock didn't work anymore etc (PC froze so I had to do hard reset). The other time a screen came up saying "Windows has run into a problem and will restart :(" or something like that. My PC has crashed about 2 times while not playing ark. I have all the latest drivers downloaded for my motherboard and gpu, and windows all up to date. I even did a clean uninstall of my gpu driver and reinstalled them incase it got corrupted. I've checked my GPU and CPU temps with MSI Afterburner and Real Temp both while idle and ingame ark - they are both fine and stable, there is plently of airflow inside the case with 2 case fans as well as the gpu fan and cpu fan. I ran MemTest overnight to check my RAM and so far there have been no errors (PC did not crash overnight and crashes only really seem apparent when gaming). I checked in the BIOS to see if everything was being recognised by the system - all good. I am not overclocking btw. I ran Furmark stress test for a while and my GPU ran it fine and stabilized at around 67