Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

i am unable to run cod2

This is a discussion on i am unable to run cod2 within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. when i click on call of duty 2 application to load this error appears Creating Direct3D device... Com_TouchMemory: 0 msec.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2012, 01:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: punjab
Posts: 1
OS: window 7


Send a message via AIM to moneysinghbrar

when i click on call of duty 2 application to load this error appears


Creating Direct3D device...
Com_TouchMemory: 0 msec. Using sum: 0
Initializing render targets...
Requested frame buffer to be 24-bit color with 8-bit alpha
DirectX returned a frame buffer that is 24-bit color with 8-bit alpha
Initializing static model cache...
Initializing dynamic buffers...
Initializing particle cloud buffer...
Creating Direct3D queries...
Setting initial state...
DirectX reports 256 MB of video memory and 342 MB of available texture memory.
Using video memory size to cap used texture memory at 240 MB.
Texture detail is set automatically.
Using picmip 0 on most textures, 0 on normal maps, and 1 on specular maps

------- sound system initialization -------
Attempting 22 kHz 16 bit stereo sound
available 3D providers:
Error during initialization:
EXE_ERR_MSS_INIT_FAILED_MP

please please please tell me how to uproot this error

__________________
moneysinghbrar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:09 PM   #2
Moderator
-Articles Team
-Games Team
 
Redeye3323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk, East Anglia, England, United Kingdom, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, Universe
Posts: 11,886
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 :D

My System

Hey mate, Welcome to TSF,

I would guess that this is a Sound-card issue.

Your best bet would be to update you Sound Drivers.

If you need help with that, post back here and I'll walk you through it.

Cheers,
-Redeye

__________________

Games & Articles Team

Redeye3323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 06:39 PM   #3
Games Team | Tech
 
PoWn3d_0704's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,522
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit

My System


That was my thought, but I wasn't sure. So i didn't say anything. Now this is going to sound stupid, but it may work.
If you have something plugged into the microphone jack, unplug it. If do have a microphone, try plugging it in and running it.

Something about those pesky microphone jacks.
This is just a little weird quirk that has actually worked on various games in the past.
__________________


Asus P8Z77-V MoBo|Intel i5 3570k @ 4.8Ghz
G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB DDR3-1600|SLI Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB
Seasonic Modular 850w|Fractal Design R4 Silent|Windows 7
Asus VG24BQE 144Hz Monitor w/ GSYNC + Dell U2412M IPS
PoWn3d_0704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Malware diverts Google to Ads
A Google search will provide various websites but when I click on one, I am diverted to adware. A common one is GimmeAnswers (get-answers-fast.com). I suspect Frostwire although it could be coincidence. I had not used Frostwire for over a year but did a search a couple of months ago. I got a...
SanJuan Resolved HJT Threads 11 12-15-2011 09:32 AM
Sluggish computer, & threats found
My system is Microsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 3. When I restart my computer I receive the following: 1785 Multibay incorrectly instqalled. The multibay must be attached to the IDE controller as device 0. No other IDE device may be attached to the same controller. I recently did 2...
CarolBT Resolved HJT Threads 194 11-12-2011 11:14 AM
Repeated Crashing
· OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Vista · x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 32 bit · What was original installed OS on system? Vista · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? Yes · Age of system (hardware) 3 years old
trulove81 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 10-06-2011 11:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts