Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Half-Life 2 Freezes

This is a discussion on Half-Life 2 Freezes within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just recently built myself a new computer, as it was time for an upgrade. It was built 2 days


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2009, 04:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit SP1



I just recently built myself a new computer, as it was time for an upgrade. It was built 2 days ago and everything went smoothly. I installed all my games from WC3 to Crysis. But there is one game that is refusing to install and thats Half-Life 2. I pop in the CD, click on Install Half-Life 2, comes up with preparing to install, and then 10 secs later, my computer freezes. Tried it again. Freezes once again. Anyone know why it's freezing like this? I'm thinking it's due to my Vista being 64-bit.

My system is:
C2D E8400 @ 3.0GHz
Asus P5Q Pro
Mushkin XP Redline PC2-8000 DDR2-1000
Diamond Radeon HD4870 1GB GDDR5
Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit

__________________
Hades2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 04:50 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit SP1



I decided to download Steam and download HL2 from steam. And so far it hasn't froze up yet.

__________________
Hades2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:59 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,516
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


if you have any more problems with it post back.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 10:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit SP1



Heres a little update. After it was downloading from Steam. Which was around 8am or so. And i've been playing it since. Never crashed or anything. But it's weird that it wouldn't install it from the CD's.
__________________
Hades2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:40 PM   #5
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


its not wierd really. The version on the CD must not like a 64 bit computer.

I find that with programs I install too that they need to be updated from the internet to work properly. So it has to do with updates too, and steam is odd.

__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts