Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

GTA:SA installation error

This is a discussion on GTA:SA installation error within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I get this error when I try to install: How can I fix this?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2006, 06:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 297
OS: Windown XP



I get this error when I try to install:



How can I fix this?

__________________
mankvill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 07:02 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 297
OS: Windown XP


It might be because I JUST put in my DVD drive back in my computer. Maybe it came with a Disc that I have to install?

__________________
mankvill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 07:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 297
OS: Windown XP


And then when I explore the DVD, There is "data1, data2," etc. all the way to data5. I try to open them, and it says: "E:/data1.cab" and then says something about it being unable to open it or something. It froze up, I can't see. D:

It's trying to open it using WinRAR.
__________________
mankvill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 07:56 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,731
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit


Hi mankvill,

Is the error always exactly the same - involving the same file and same component?

Run through these steps:

1. Restart your system and try the installation again.

2. Check the disc to see if it is scratched or marked.

3. If you have access to another DVD drive, try installing the game from that drive instead of your current drive.

4. Install the game on another computer, to test if the disc is fine. (Remember to uninstall the game straight after.)

Post back with results.
__________________
Indoril Nerevar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 05:49 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
gamerman0203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,143
OS: XP MCE, Ubuntu Gutsy

My System

you can also try to copy the files of your DVD to a temp folder on your hard drive and try to install from there.
gamerman0203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 03:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 297
OS: Windown XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerman0203 View Post
you can also try to copy the files of your DVD to a temp folder on your hard drive and try to install from there.
I tried this, and it gave me another error when it got to data2.cab.
__________________
mankvill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 03:29 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,731
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit


Sounds like the disc is bad. Follow my instructions as per my previous post, and post back with results.

__________________
Indoril Nerevar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts