Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Fraps won't record properly.

This is a discussion on Fraps won't record properly. within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Whenever I try to record my games with fraps, it randomly stops recording about 2 - 3 minutes into it.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2008, 08:25 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



Whenever I try to record my games with fraps, it randomly stops recording about 2 - 3 minutes into it. I'm not sure what to do or how to fix it, and I know I'm not randomly pressing the stop record button because its Num lock, away from most of the keys I'm using.

__________________
apollotheeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 10:48 AM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
 
RockmasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 7,170
OS: Windows 7 SP1 64 bit

My System


hello apollotheeagle, and welcome to TSF
is there enough space on your hard disk to let Fraps Record? you know that 1 min of fraps will consume about 400 Mb of space depending on the settings you use.
Open Faps, choose Movies, under movies, choose Half-size.

__________________



!!Please do not PM me about Tech Support!!
RockmasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 11:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



Thanks, I have been getting a lot of notices saying that I only have about 50MB of memory on my C: drive. I'll see what I can do, but what is the difference between full and half size?
__________________
apollotheeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 11:11 AM   #4
Team Manager, Gaming
 
RockmasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 7,170
OS: Windows 7 SP1 64 bit

My System


50 mb!!!!!!!!!!!!! o_O
free some memory!!! it's bad to keep it like that mate :P
half-size will record the video in it's half-size so the file recorded is smaller than the original size. eg : if you recorded a video with full size, let's say it'll take 200 mb, but with half-size it'll take 100 mb or a bit more.
__________________



!!Please do not PM me about Tech Support!!
RockmasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 12:04 PM   #5
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,499
OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

My System


you need at least 15% free hard drive space for your computer to function properly.

so maybe you should start backing up stuff, deleting and uninstalling games
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 02:08 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Tiber Septim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 3,254
OS: Windows 7

My System


Fraps will automatically stop recording after a few minutes anyway, unless you purchased the full version.
__________________
Help TSF beat Cancer and other serious Illness.
Tiber Septim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 04:22 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Aus_Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 4,110
OS: Windows XP 32-bit/64-bit, Ubuntu x64, Windows 7 x64

My System


What format is the HDD in, NTFS or FAT32?
FAT32 can only create files no larger than 4GB. But i guess you have just ran out of space so fraps stops recording.
As far as i know fraps will continue recording until you either run out of space or stop it manually.
Aus_Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:25 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Tiber Septim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 3,254
OS: Windows 7

My System


If you have the registered version, then the problem is most likely due to no space left.
If you have the unregistered version then:
__________________
Help TSF beat Cancer and other serious Illness.
Tiber Septim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:36 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



The same is happening to me.
__________________
bethany200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:43 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



I have 320 GB free, and fraps will stop recording after 30 seconds, what do I do? I did everything listed, and it still won't work! SOmeone help me!

__________________
bethany200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts