Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Frame rate keeps dropping. >:-[

This is a discussion on Frame rate keeps dropping. >:-[ within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay, so here's my problem: For some reason, when I play games on my laptop, they lag like crazy every


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2010, 12:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04



Okay, so here's my problem: For some reason, when I play games on my laptop, they lag like crazy every 20-40 seconds. Not internet lag, but rather a drop in FPS. For example, I usually get about 20-30 FPS when I'm playing WoW. I'll be playing, and everything will be fine, but then it will just suddenly drop to about 3-4 FPS for about 30 seconds. Let's just say it has caused me to die more than once.

So I did a few tests. First of all, it seems to affect any games that are 3D, both single-player and online. (Although it doesn't seem to happen in any other 3D applications.) It also seems to happen much more often the longer I play; after a few hours it is basically unplayable. (So maybe it could be a heat issue... this laptop has had problems with that before.) Finally, (this is what confuses me,) it doesn't lag on Ubuntu. I can play WoW using Wine, and even though there is a slight drop in FPS overall, (and the fact that sound won't play...) it doesn't have the lag spikes like Windows does.

So I'm kinda stumped. I've tried updating my video drivers, but that didn't help. I thought it could be heat, but wouldn't that affect Ubuntu as well?

This wasn't problem until about a year ago. Like I said, it had some heat problems, I ended up having to replace the graphics card. And that's when this started happening. :/

I dunno. It's basically making my games unplayable, so any help would be awesome. Thanks. :)

Dell Inspiron 1420
Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit // Ubuntu 10.04
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz
3.0 GB RAM
NVidia GeForce 8400M GS

__________________
Gollum999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 06:39 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Vista 32bit



I just resurrected a thread detailing the same problem as you have. See my post in this thread:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f59/...ml#post2711198

It seems like we all have laptops. Maybe the cpu capacity drop has something to do with the battery...? Or some other aspect of laptops that desktops don't have...?

__________________
Oliver1799 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:54 AM   #3
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



It could possibly be a head issue,

Download SIW(download the 'SIW Without Installer (English-Only)') and go to hardware then sensors.

Take your temperatures while idle, then while in-game for around 10 minutes, make sure to minimize the game, as closing it will decrease the temperatures by 10 degrees giving us incorrect readings.. I need your temperatures for all your components.
__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 12:42 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04



Here are my idle temps:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y16...999/temps1.png

And here are my temps after about 10 minutes:
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y16...999/temps2.png


Yeah, I never realized how hot it was getting. Also, I think those temps are rather interesting... I never got anything that high before I got my graphics card replaced... the old one peaked at maybe 85°C.

I already have a laptop cooler, though. :/ Obviously it's not helping too much. :p

And again... why is Ubuntu not affected? Maybe Windows deals with the temperatures differently? (i.e. throttling the CPU speed to prevent damage, maybe?)
__________________
Gollum999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:15 AM   #5
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



Hardware shutting down is in the hardware, not the OS. I think Ubuntu uses less system resources. Anyways, your temperatures while idle and too high and while gaming, are dangerosuly high. I recommend you dust your computer with a can of compressed air, whens the last time you cleaned your computer?
__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:48 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04



Quote:
Originally Posted by Zealex View Post
Hardware shutting down is in the hardware, not the OS. I think Ubuntu uses less system resources.
Yeah, that makes sense. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zealex View Post
Anyways, your temperatures while idle and too high and while gaming, are dangerosuly high. I recommend you dust your computer with a can of compressed air, whens the last time you cleaned your computer?
Umm... Last month I think. (Didn't really help the lag at all. :p ) I'll do it again, though.
__________________
Gollum999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 06:20 PM   #7
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



Okay, let me know how that goes and we shall proceed from there.
__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 02:31 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04



Okay, got all the dust out (although there wasn't much).

Idle temps
After about 10 minutes

Yeah, no difference really. Like I said, there wasn't much dust.

Also, I've found out that the lag DOES happen on Ubuntu, just much less often. Happened two or three times in about an hour of gaming.
__________________
Gollum999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 02:39 PM   #9
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



Wow those temperatures are really high. Maybe it isn't a dust issue, but there is something making your hardware extremely hot. What was the old GPU in the laptop? Are you running the laptop in a hot area?
__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 02:46 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04



My old GPU was the same as the one I have now: NVidia GeForce 8400M GS.

My laptop is in my room... one of the warmer rooms of the house, but certainly not a "hot area". :p
__________________
Gollum999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 02:49 PM   #11
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



I'm scratching my head at this one, usually the other area I would look at is your PSU however laptop's do not have PSUs. Is there anything blocking the vents? When you dusted your laptop, did you just dust the vents or did you actually dust the inside by taking the cover off?
__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 02:52 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.04



Nope, nothing blocking the vents...
And yeah, when I cleaned out the dust I opened up part of the cover... not the whole thing, just enough to reach most of the inside areas.
__________________
Gollum999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:56 PM   #13
TSF-Enthusiast
 
Elvenleader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 2,491
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1

My System


Have you tried using a laptop cooler?

Grrr. Missed some posts.I meant what kind.....
__________________
RevoUninstaller System Spec Everest DirectX 9.0c

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here
Elvenleader3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:00 PM   #14
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



What is the temperature of the room? Again, I'm stumped. I think I have an idea, but I want to get some second thoughts. While I am absent, let us know if anything new pops up.
__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:12 PM   #15
TSF-Enthusiast
 
Elvenleader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 2,491
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1

My System


You've made sure your vents are working? This happens to me sometimes. What type of surface to you keep it on?I like to keep mine on wood or anything that won't gather heat like carpets,sheets and blankets.
__________________
RevoUninstaller System Spec Everest DirectX 9.0c

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here
Elvenleader3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:37 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 274
OS: Vista sp2



The only other thing I can think of is the thermal paste needs reapplying.
Also, just to clarify you started having this problem after you got the new graphic card?
__________________
icebelowzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:39 PM   #17
TSF-Enthusiast
 
Elvenleader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 2,491
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1

My System


Yeah we were discussing that. Using that idea after we ruled everything else out.
__________________
RevoUninstaller System Spec Everest DirectX 9.0c

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here
Elvenleader3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:46 PM   #18
Retired Mod.
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,354
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by icebelowzero View Post
The only other thing I can think of is the thermal paste needs reapplying.
I can't think of any other reason besides that. He did get this issue after installing his new GPU. So I guess, I agree on that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gollum999
This wasn't problem until about a year ago. Like I said, it had some heat problems, I ended up having to replace the graphics card. And that's when this started happening. :/

__________________
Forum Rules

If you come across a thread or post that is advertising, inflammatory or otherwise disagreeing with our rules, please use the Report button.

Have an issue? Post in the appropriate area and make sure to read any 'stickies' in that area, as they contain vital information.
Zealex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts