Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Flight Simulator X Fatal Error

This is a discussion on Flight Simulator X Fatal Error within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys, When I'm playing FSX and I'm going to change view or view AI traffic the game freeze and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2009, 04:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



Hi Guys,

When I'm playing FSX and I'm going to change view or view AI traffic the game freeze and an Error called "A Fatal Error Occurred" just pop out!!
This is the error:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: fsx.exe
Application Version: 10.0.61637.0
Application Timestamp: 46fadb14
Fault Module Name: unknown
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00003c3c
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033


I hope that anyone help me please!!! I want to play the game!!!!!

__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:57 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Tiber Septim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 3,254
OS: Windows 7

My System


Hi Pedrito2513, welcome to TSF.

Have you followed the steps listed here?
If so, please post your full system specs.

Has this error always occurred or has it only started happening recently?

__________________
Help TSF beat Cancer and other serious Illness.
Tiber Septim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



Hi Tiber Septim,

I just followed the steps but the problem stills.

My Specs:

Operating System: Windows 7 Professional (x64)

Processor: 2.67 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q8400
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Not hyper-threaded

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250

RAM: 8.00 GB

Hard Drive: 159.93 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
96.03 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

Power Supply: I Don't know how to find it.
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:15 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



I played FSX on Windows XP without problems, when I install it on Windows 7 this error is occuring.
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 08:03 AM   #5
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Have you installed the 2 service packs for FSX?
There are some important fixes in them that could possibly help.
Please note that SP1 must be installed before SP2

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...2-5a41a3e27ff0
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:44 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



@ pat mcgroin

I installed the acceleration pack, it already comes with SP1 and SP2
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 02:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



NOW I GOT ANOTHER ERROR!!!! :S

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: fsx.exe
Application Version: 10.0.61637.0
Application Timestamp: 46fadb14
Fault Module Name: StackHash_16d6
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16385
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bdb3b
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 000cdcbb
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 16d6
Additional Information 2: 16d65d982d2d093fc12d707958ccad2d
Additional Information 3: df06
Additional Information 4: df060fb73589a41145fb962e3e43f83b

PLEASE HELP!!!!
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 06:12 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,385
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit

My System


I would change the install folder and do a repair. I think this has something to do with permissions.
__________________
FreoHeaveho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 06:32 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



@FreoHeaveho

OK thanks I will try it.
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 05:39 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



Nothing!!! Someone!!!!
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 08:25 AM   #11
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


FSX can be a pain in the neck to reinstall in some circumstances.
Your reinstall may have one of these issues.
Please look at the following links and see if they could be of help.
I think a reinstall is what you will need but it must be done in a certain way as it would seem that your system is keeping some of the old settings.

http://flyawaysimulation.com/postp196739.html

http://social.answers.microsoft.com/...7-56a3b998a0c2
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:32 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



@ pat mcgroin

ok I will try it Thanks!!!
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 05:27 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



@ pat mcgroin

This does not worked for me because i have Windows 7 and it was for Windows XP.

Thanks anyway
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 05:34 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



OHHHH I'M SO FRUSTATED!!! I just want to throw the computer out the window!!!

PLEASE HEEELP!!!!

PS:Thanks for all guys!!! :P
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 06:16 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



Guys I just wanna know how to unintall it, and then install it again. FOR VISTA OR WINDOWS 7

Thanks and MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 08:12 AM   #16
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Here is some more on the matter.
The first link gives info for what seems to be FS2004 but the majority of the folders are the same.
The second link shows the differences of the folders pertaining to Vista and W7.
The third is something that I found with some info about possible issues with x64 installs.

I think where your issuse may be is that not all files are getting deleted during the uninstall and showing back up after the reinstall and causing an issue.

Also Im going to try to send a message to a guy named Sven that is very good with this and see if he has any more ideas.

http://flyawaysimulation.com/article3805.html
http://forums1.avsim.net/index.php?showtopic=246347
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/...te-64-bit.aspx
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 08:18 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



@ pat mcgroin

THANKS A LOOOOOT!!!!! I'M GONNA TRY THIS!!
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 12:03 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 418
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Sven2157 Send a message via MSN to Sven2157 Send a message via Yahoo to Sven2157

Hi Pedrito ,

Those links that Pat has provided are over 2 years old, at least. I run FSX on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, and am not having any of these issues with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedrito
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: fsx.exe
Application Version: 10.0.61637.0
Application Timestamp: 46fadb14
Fault Module Name: StackHash_16d6
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16385
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bdb3b
Exception Code: c0000374
Exception Offset: 000cdcbb
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 16d6
Additional Information 2: 16d65d982d2d093fc12d707958ccad2d
Additional Information 3: df06
Additional Information 4: df060fb73589a41145fb962e3e43f83b
This usually occurs when there is a corrupt file or files in the FSX Installation folder. Go ahead and try this.
  1. Go to control panel and select "Programs and Features".
  2. When that list populates, locate Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Acceleration", and uninstall it. The repair for it DOES NOT work.
  3. Now the list will re-populate. Once again locate, Microsoft Flight Simulator X: SP1. If it is not listed there, click "View installed updates" in the top left, and locate it there.
  4. Uninstall SP1.
  5. Now locate Microsoft Flight Simulator X, BUT this time left click it ONE time and in the top click "Repair". Once that is complete, reinstall SP1, and then Acceleration. Install SP1 by itself, from the link Pat posted above.

Let me know how that works for you...

FYI, FSX was designed, specifically, to run on Vista 64-Bit, with DirectX 10. When they announced that you had to have Vista for it, people FREAKED OUT! So they made it backwards compatible for XP. Windows 7 is a newer, better OS and thus should not be affected by this at all...

Sven2157
__________________
Sven2157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:02 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 25
OS: Windows 7



Hi Sven2157,

I did everything but when I'm installing Acceleration Pack this 2 errors pop out

Could not open key: UNKNOWW\Component\...\09B9279AB73D96A46BA64763CAF12747. Verify that you have sufficient access to that key or contact your support personnel.

________________________ and the other one________________________________

Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Acceleration Setup ended before completing installation. Your system has not been modified. To install this program at a later time, please run setup again.


I'm just tired of Errors!!!

PS: Thanks for replying!!! and Happy New Year 2010!!!
__________________
Pedrito2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:08 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 418
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Sven2157 Send a message via MSN to Sven2157 Send a message via Yahoo to Sven2157

It would appear that your registry is corrupt... Now because you didn't post the full error, I am not sure which registry hive or key is the culpret, but you can use something simple, like CCleaner to try and clean your registry.

Try that, and let me know...

BTW, this is a problem mostly associated with habitual, installing and uninstalling of programs/games; not FSX. If this is the case, you need to find a good registry "maintainance" program, and run it regularly...

FSX is built on the .NET framework, and removing other programs can very easily remove something that FSX relies on; like .dll files...

Happy New Year to you as well...!

__________________
Sven2157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts