Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

"Conflict with disk emulator software"

This is a discussion on "Conflict with disk emulator software" within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i had nothin to do so i went through my old games and found star wars:Knights of the Old republic..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2009, 03:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



i had nothin to do so i went through my old games and found star wars:Knights of the Old republic.. put it in my laptop and installed all the discs.. that all went normally i guess. when i went to play it the first time, i put the play disc in and clicked play etc. I noticed it was a bit delayed sort of when bringing up the intro titles like the company logos and stuff.. i dunno what to call 'em but you know what i mean.. however once i got playing everything was cool.. i played for a few hrs and then left it. next time i went to play, i started getting this error "Conflict with disk emulator software" whenever i clicked play on the panel that clicking the desktop shortcut brings up. so my question is.. why wont it work?
one thing i was thinking is that the game being older it wouldnt be useable with anything higher than XP which would have been the best operating system when it came out.. and on my laptop i've got Vista.. but then it worked when i first installed it so thats that idea gone.

anyway, any help would be apreciated.. also.. if anyone knows where i can download the games disc equivolants so that i dont have to use them to play it? even just for the play disc.. thanks.

__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:24 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,127
OS: Win7-64

My System


Have you got any disc emulation software installed? (Things like Alcohol120, PowerISO or Daemon Tools that are used to create virtual drives)

If the anti-piracy system that is used by some games detects the disc emulator, it will prevent the game from running.

Are you using the original retail disc or a backup copy?

Instead of clicking the shortcut icon to start the game, have you tried running the exe?

Does it work in XP compatibility mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayds510
also.. if anyone knows where i can download the games disc equivolants so that i dont have to use them to play it? even just for the play disc
If the game requires the disc to be inserted, then you can't use a "disc equivalent" because you can only do this by creating an ISO and using a virtual drive, and this is blocked by the game's anti-piracy system.

__________________

watch?v=qA5faeCGg-w
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:53 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 79
OS: Vista Premium 32 SP2

My System


It's a well known bug that trying to run KOTOR on Vista causes the "Conflict with disk emulation" error, you have to contact SecuROM Support with the issue, follow the instructions here: http://www.securom.com/message.asp?m=analysis and they will email you a new .exe
__________________
Origin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 08:36 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



i tried following the steps at that link provided by Origin, when i turned the computer back on and right clicked the exe icon it didnt show the option it said it would have, and instead the computer froze.. i tried twice with 2 different launching icons and still nothing.

also, whats xp compatibility mode?
__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:01 PM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,127
OS: Win7-64

My System


Right-click the game's shortcut icon, select Properties, click the Compatibility tab and select Windows 98 from the drop-down menu.

Have you got any disc emulation software installed?

Are you using the original retail disc or a backup copy?
__________________

watch?v=qA5faeCGg-w
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 12:44 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



i'm using the original retail disc.
as for emulation software i wouldnt have a clue, i havent downloaded anything like that but i'm not sure what my laptop can do.. when i first installed the game i could play it without.
__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 12:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



somethin odd.. i tried it on my other pc, one with XP, and it seemed to have some serious framerate problems.. very lag-like and jittery.. when i played the game on there a long time ago it was okay. so unless someone swapped its graphics card while we were all out or asleep idk how its like that now.. so if any1 knows what that is.. but anyway never mind that for now i just wanna sort it out for my laptop.
__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:05 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 79
OS: Vista Premium 32 SP2

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayds510 View Post
i tried following the steps at that link provided by Origin, when i turned the computer back on and right clicked the exe icon it didnt show the option it said it would have, and instead the computer froze.. i tried twice with 2 different launching icons and still nothing.

also, whats xp compatibility mode?

I would email SecuROM support about it then, as I posted before it's a known issue with vista and KOTOR (and a lot of older games with SecuROM protection).

There are other ways to get the fixed .exe, but that can be a grey area.

Just google "SecuROM KOTOR" and you'll find nearly 8900 results, mainly about this problem.

EDIT: Link to BioWare Tech Support forum for the game, number 1 applies to you http://swforums.bioware.com/viewtopic.html?topic=434717&forum=80
__________________
Origin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:35 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



i emailed secuROM with the analysis, i managed to get it from it eventually.. so hopefully they will send me a new .exe, i'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 03:05 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



they still havent emailed back yet :s any idea how long it will take?
__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 05:19 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 79
OS: Vista Premium 32 SP2

My System


They usually reply within a couple of business days, don't forget that most companies don't count weekends as business days :)
__________________
Origin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:57 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
-WOLF-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 8,822
OS: Ubuntu 12 LTS; Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; XP SP3 32-bit; Puppy Linux 3.4.1 32-bit

My System


Software like AnyDVD can be detected as Disc Emulation software too, make sure your antivirus is not blocking the game, and make sure you don't have a program called Thread Fire installed because that can cause issues like this.
__________________
-WOLF- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:30 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 79
OS: Vista Premium 32 SP2

My System


Put it this way, I run A120%, Daemon Tools, AnyDVD and Nero Virtual Drive, all legitimate up to date versions, for legitimate reasons and they have no effect on KOTOR.

As a side note, all of my games are legitimate and none of them, including the latest games have issues with "disk emulation software" messages or virtual drives.

KOTOR uses a very old version of SecuROM, any emulation or VD issues will have already been "taken care of" by emulation/VD apps, unless people are running versions of those apps that are pre 2003...
__________________
Origin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:34 PM   #14
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,127
OS: Win7-64

My System


Thanks, Origin. This kind of error is sometimes caused by virtual drive software being installed, but if you say it's a SecuRom problem, we'll concentrate on that. Thanks for posting the email advice.
__________________

watch?v=qA5faeCGg-w
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 03:57 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



its gotta be secuROM. from what ive read 'conflict with disk emulator software' is their middle name lol
__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:46 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Hayds510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide Hills,SA,Australia
Posts: 153
OS: Vista Home Premium



well its safe to say a couple of buisness days is well over. still no email with a working .exe from secuROM maybe they dont do it anymore? :(

__________________
Hayds510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts