Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support


Computer gaming crashes

This is a discussion on Computer gaming crashes within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Pretty much, while playing PC games such as World of Warcraft and guild wars, i've been having some problems which


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2007, 12:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



Pretty much, while playing PC games such as World of Warcraft and guild wars, i've been having some problems which i can't seem to figure out. Whenever I log in to play, it can sometimes last 5 mintues, or a few hours, but every time the game crashes. Now, what's strange about this is that it doens't come up wiht the usual blank screen or blue screen, but instead the screen turns different colors, such as pink and green, desplayed in a large rectangular pattern. It usually isn't more than one color per time, but they change each time.

I'm guessing that it has something to do with my graphics card, but i'm not sure. Oddly enough, i have had my computer for around 2 years now, and this is just about the first time these problems have occured. I had built the computer myself. It has a gig of RAM (i'm thinking maybe i need more), a Nvidia 6800+ GT graphics card, an Aopen hardrive, and i think something like 300Gigs of memory. The 300 gigs though are split into partisions, and at a time my whole C drive (where all the games are located) was full.

I have only had this happen a few other times in the past, mainly when i was playing Vanguard, the same problem would occur. After contacting tech support, i was told to install the new graphics card driver. I just now reinstalled DirectX, so i'm gunna try it again, but i'm pretty doubtfull that that's the problem.

Thanks in advance, becuase i really have no idea what's wrong, it's never been this bad before.
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2007, 12:09 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


hello try http://www.techsupportforum.com/arti...rsviewpro.html and post your temps,and voltages.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



Ok, i think this is pretty bad in advance.
Temperatures:
CPU: 50C/122F
SYS: 43C/110F
AUX: 14C/58F
HD0: 41C/106F
HD1: 38C/101F

Fans:
CPU Fan: 4624 RPM, it's changing though
SYS Fan: 0
AUX Fan: 0

Voltages:
VCoreA: 1.55 V
VCoreB: 2.16 V
+3.3V: 3.36 V
+5V: 5.19 V
+12V: 12.20 V
-5V: -5.35 V
-12V: -12.30 V
+5VSB: 5.09 V
+VBAT: 3.12 V

Thanks again
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:20 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


is that cpu temp of 50c was that idle.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:22 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



yup, not running anything really
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:25 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


have you looked inside your computer to see.if you have a build up of dust.a good layer of dust between the fan,and cpu heatsink can cause it to run to hot.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



i'm looking into my computer right now (clear case), it doens't look too bad, i clean my computer out every month or so, so no, the dust isn't too bad. i'm just gunna try something right now, gunna run a game and see what the temps go up to.
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:29 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


ok thats good that you clean it out regularly i do as well.let me know what your temp is with the game.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:34 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



right now it's climbing pretty quickly, already at 62C, just turned 63
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:35 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


what kind of cpu do you have?also what kind of power supply do you have?
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:38 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



AMD athlon... 3500 i think, and power supply, i got it replaced before becuase it actually fried a long time ago, the dust got too great, thats why i clean it out now... um... i think it's a... i have no idea, any way to check it from my computer, and the temp has maxed at 63C
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:40 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



cross that, the temp just went up to 64
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:42 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


i assume you cant see the sticker on the power supply being you have a side window case.what cpu cooler are you useing a stock one,or something aftermarket.i really dont know of any way to check that other than looking on the sticker on the power supply.on the sensorsview do the voltages fluctuate any under load.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:44 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



The voltages don't seem to be changing too much, but they are fluctuating slightly, going up then down again, my CPU temp is now up to 66
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:45 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



they were fluctuating a bit during idol also
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:52 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



CPU cooler came with in the box with the CPU, and temp now seems to be maxed out at 66, and i'm actually supprised that the game hasn't crashed yet
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:54 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


heat could be your problem.have you tried reseating the cooler with fresh thermal paste.a little fluctuation is normal as long as it dont go way out of spec.
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:57 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



i haven't tried that yet, but let me apologize in advance if the game doesn't crash becuase it usually would have crashed by now, the problem may have been the directX, in which case i am extreamly sorry
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:01 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,538
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


have you recently updated your direct-x
pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:02 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP



i updated it before, but i just reinstaled it, i highly doubted it would work
Dfire53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup S....l.....o....w
My startup from boot till everything is loaded takes about 10 mins whats up?
JFLmongoose Windows XP Support 28 05-02-2007 12:49 PM
Losing Sound/Taskbar changing colors (HiJack Log included)
My taskbar is the normal blue from WinXP, however it is now changing at random to beige. Along with that I keep losing my sound card, in device manager it shows active and enable but no sounds (other than system sounds) will play. When I click on the speaker on the taskbar it says no active mixer...
Wombat104 Inactive Malware Help Topics 18 01-22-2007 08:27 AM
Something slowing down my internet connection
My computer has been running real slow for about a week now, so I called my service provider to figure out the problem. After 10 minutes of not getting anywhere he had me type in nestat -a at the cmd prompt to see how many ports it was listing. I told him it listed 32 of them and he said that's to...
zaboe Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-15-2006 05:34 PM
Slow Shutdown
I having some problem with a slow shutdown on my PC and i found this Error at the Event Viewer.Please help me take a look at it Thank You Application Error Event Type: Warning Event Source: Userenv Event Category: None Event ID: 1517 Date: 10/26/2005 Time: 11:59:25 PM User: NT...
Daniel89 Windows XP Support 15 12-02-2005 06:30 AM
Windows won't shut down!
I have Windows XP Office, and just recently whenever I click on Turn Off Computer in the Start menu it will then give me the choice to Stand By, Turn Off, or Restart. The Stand By option works, but Restart and Turn Off only show a busy signal for a moment and then nothing happens. I tried...
ryan Windows XP Support 4 11-15-2002 01:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com