Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Company of Heroes: disc read error

This is a discussion on Company of Heroes: disc read error within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have just recently bought Company of heroes and finished installing it on my computer. However when I attempt


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2011, 06:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista



Hello, I have just recently bought Company of heroes and finished installing it on my computer. However when I attempt to play, I will get a message 'Insert Company of Heroes: Game of the year'. I already have the disc inserted, so once I clicked continue, a white message appears telling me it's the wrong disk.

Then I tried installing Opposing fronts which came with my game. However it acts like it's already installed, so I clicked play, with no such luck. I un-installed and then installed Opposing Fronts instead. When I attempted to click play again I got the above message again, asking me for the disk. I tried my other games, and they seem to work fine with no problem.

Thank you for reading.

__________________
Razordash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:55 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 8,849
OS: Ubuntu 12 LTS; Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; XP SP3 32-bit; Puppy Linux 3.4.1 32-bit

My System


Hello, welcome to TSF!

Are you certain you're using the right disk? Some games have a play disc and an install disc.

Have you disabled your anti-virus software or created an exception for the game?

__________________
-WOLF- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista



Hey, thank you for responding.

I am quite certain I'm using the right Disc. There are two disk, but one of them is Game of the year version, and the other is opposing fronts. And they don't come with any additional disk, just a single one for each.

I have disabled my anti-virus software on my 2nd attempt but no such luck. I checked Firewall and everything seems A-ok.

I've did a bit of google search and came found someone way back then who seem to have the problem that I currently have.
"wrong disc inserted error" - Company of Heroes - GameSpot Forums

I'm not 100% sure if this is my problem but I'm just now attempting to download a patch and see if that helps. I thought it was only required for online play which I rarely do.
__________________
Razordash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help - IE crashing and random redirects
I got the Windows repair virus virus a few days ago and was able to remove most of the symptoms using MBAM and Spybot but I still have a few issues: 1. IE 8 crashes upon launch most of the time. Mozilla Firefox works fine for now and I can live with it but need IE for some of my applications....
jb40967 Resolved HJT Threads 12 07-23-2011 08:03 AM
BSOD Problems, IQRL_Not_Less_Or_Equal; PFN_List_Corrupt; Ntfs.sys etc.
Over the past 2 months I've been having problems with BSOD's. First I tought it was just a one time thing but after five times I started to think different. I used Ccleaner and Comodo cleaner to clean up the registry but nothing helped. The one thing I did noticed was that the BSOD's were different...
Pytrik BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 02-28-2011 04:41 AM
disc read error! Dell inspiron e1505 wont boot to windows. error code 0148.
I have a Dell Inspiron E1505 Laptop. My husband sold it to a friend and now we have it back. They almost ruined it. It was very dirty and wouldn't operate. My husband cleaned it up and I installed Windows XP. (it came loaded with Vista but the people who my husband sold it to, got a virus on it...
Melissa2387 Laptop Support 5 02-07-2011 12:37 PM
Burning error in audio blank using Nero 6
I have a burning error in audio blank using Nero 6. Below is my log, What is the problem ? Windows XP 5.1 IA32 WinAspi: - ahead WinASPI: File 'C:\Program Files\Ahead\Nero\Wnaspi32.dll': Ver=2.0.1.74, size=164112 bytes, created 10/26/2004 5:35:34 PM
zhong Windows XP Support 12 01-13-2011 11:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts