Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

COD4 fps cap - 91FPS

This is a discussion on COD4 fps cap - 91FPS within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. so, on COD4, on highest settings, and lowest settings, the fps stays at 90/91. So I assume that's the cap.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2009, 04:57 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 764
OS: winXP

My System


so, on COD4, on highest settings, and lowest settings, the fps stays at 90/91. So I assume that's the cap. The com_maxfps command doesn't make any difference. I've heard of the autoexec.cfg file but I don't know what to do/howto do it.

Can anyone help me to uncap my fps please?

__________________
jrockpunk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:05 PM   #2
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


why bother?

anything over 30fps is fine and pleasing to the eye.

Have a read here
http://foros.cerolag.com/f-soporte-2...ips-33332.html

I would say leave it alone

__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:12 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 764
OS: winXP

My System


Well, there are lots of reasons. For one, I want the best my card can give. Second, It will be good knowledge for games that I might need it in the future. And lastly, I might want to do some benchmarking or put some videos up on youtube. Thanks, I'll look at that link.

[edit]
thanks, it can go to under 150 now. It's just good for maps like broadcast that aren't too graphically intense.
__________________
jrockpunk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:29 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Aus_Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 4,110
OS: Windows XP 32-bit/64-bit, Ubuntu x64, Windows 7 x64

My System


Having the frames capped there can be a good thing. If your card could continue to render frames you will find the cards temperature will be very high. On Dead space my card can render it at 250fps but it sits at 90c. Where if i V-sync or capp the frames around 60fps my card stays below 70c.
So somtimes been capped is a good thing.
Aus_Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:15 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 764
OS: winXP

My System


Oh OK. I'm getting a 4850 anyway, so I think that will be able to handle it.
__________________
jrockpunk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 03:37 PM   #6
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


see like a monitor than can only support 60hz can support a maximum of 60 FPS

and a HD monitor of 120hz can support up to 120FPS
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 01:24 AM   #7
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Tiber Septim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 3,254
OS: Windows 7

My System


Another thing is, if your card is rendering more frames than the monitor can display, there's a good chance you'll get some sort of visual 'tearing'.
Lines running across the screen isn't great to look at.

Edit: Just noticed you said you are looking into getting a 4850. If so, you might want to look into a new Power Supply too. It would have to be a pretty decent 550W PSU to be able to run it, and even then you will be putting a lot of strain on the PSU, thereby shortening its' life.
__________________
Help TSF beat Cancer and other serious Illness.
Tiber Septim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 01:36 AM   #8
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


with a 4850 I''d recommend a 750w PSU

__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts