Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Call of Duty World At War - Unhandled Exception Caught

This is a discussion on Call of Duty World At War - Unhandled Exception Caught within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2010, 02:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: India
Posts: 33
OS: Dual Boot - Windows XP MCE 2005 SP3 & Windows 7 Ultimate



Problem - Call of Duty crashes at start up.

Error Message - Unhandled Exception Caught (lot of users are facing similar issue, it's all over Google)

Required Info -

1. "Can you run it" test - passed (passed with good results i.e. achievd fast mark)
2. Minimum required hardware - Yes
3. Free hard disk space of atleast 8 or 10 GB - Yes (Well over 8 and 10 GB)
4. Latest Direct X installed- Yes
5. System specs are as follows -

Intel Core 2 @ 1.86 Ghz, Intel® 946GZ Express Chipset system Model - D946GZIS, Windows MCE 2005 SP 3, XFX GeForce 9400 GT, WD Caviar 160 GB Internal HDD, Seagate FreeAgent Pro 500 GB External HDD, 1 GB DDR II RAM, Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II (25xxx)

Fix already tried -

Fix 1. Disabled phone modem under "Device Manager". Modem that i have installed is called "PCI SoftV92 Modem"

Fix 2. Right click the exe file, click on tab named Compatibility, check the "Run this program in compatibility mode with" box and then select "Windows XP Service Pack 2"

Problem with Fix 2. - I don't get the option of Windown Service Pack 2 option. I only have got 4 options there which are as follows. Windows 95, Windows 98/ME, Windows NT 4.0 (Service Pack 5) & Windows 2000

Fix 3. Start > Control Panel > Sound Right Click on the default playback device (e.g. Speakers) and click properties. From there select the Advanced tab. To eliminate this error the default playback format must be set at 24 bit 48000Hz (Studio Quality).

problem with Fix 3. - I do not have option called Sound. I only have got option of Sound & audio devices. And, there isn't anything called properties. Just advanced tab which gives you option for hardware accelaration & sample rate conversion quality. Tried setting it to basic however issue still persist.

Fix 4. deleted all accounts and the .txt file in the 'C:\ Users\ Username\ AppData\ Local\ Activision\ CoDWaW\ players' folder.

I then deleted the file 'Treyarch.bik' in the folder 'C:\ Program Files\ Activision\ Call of Duty - World at War\ main\ video'

Problem with Fix 4. - Couldn't locate aboesaid folder i.e. users\username. Did try deleting the file "treyarch.bik" but to no avail

Fix 5. The trick is to insert your DVD or mount your .iso file and navigate to [DVD Drive]:\Setup\Data\zone\english
This folder contains all of the fastfiles for each level in the game, these are vital for loading. Sometimes, the installed files can get corrupted, so the best plan of action is to Copy and Paste them all from the DVD folder into the installation folder.

Fix 5. status - Replaced all files from DVD still didn't work

Posting all fixes as it may be helpful to someone else facing same issue. Unfortunately none of the fixes worked for me. Any other bright sugegstions please?

Is it safe to post Hijack this & CPU Z logs? I was thinking of posting well in advance but thought it would be better to seek advise from Mods first.

__________________
intellectual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 09:01 AM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
 
RockmasteR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 7,170
OS: Windows 7 SP1 64 bit

My System


Hello,
Fix 3 is for Vista and Windows 7
for Windows XP:
Go to Control Panel -> Audio and Sound devices

under speakers choose settings -> Advanced
set the Hardware Acceleration to BASIC (move the slider two times to the left)

__________________



!!Please do not PM me about Tech Support!!
RockmasteR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 10:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: India
Posts: 33
OS: Dual Boot - Windows XP MCE 2005 SP3 & Windows 7 Ultimate



Cheers Mate but have tried that already. Didn't work.
__________________
intellectual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 11:18 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: India
Posts: 33
OS: Dual Boot - Windows XP MCE 2005 SP3 & Windows 7 Ultimate



Finally solved it. Here's another fix that worked for me -

1. Run dxdiag and see if your card is running as emulated.
2. If it is, go into regedit, search for words “device presence”. Change emulated to 0, VXd to 1 and WDM to 1. Find all of them and change.

Be patient as there will be lots of "Device Presence" all over registry. Best way to do it is Click on edit > Find (Control + F) > type device presence and hit enter > change values as stated in step 2 > and now keep clicking "find next" (Shortcut key F3) and keep changing values until you reach to a point where you get a notification pop up stating "No more entries found". You will also notice "vertical scroll bar" on left hand side of your screen will have been scrolled all the way down once you're done.

- Intellectual Out!
__________________
intellectual is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD intermittently during Windows 7 Startup
Hello, I m new to this forum. I am using this computer on everyday basis. however, BSOD happens to it once in a while during start up to boot into windows. Found this during BSOD, "0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s." I have...
hunterz86 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 03-13-2013 07:31 AM
Call of Duty World at War friend unable to connect
The problem is, whenever we try to play zombie mode with each other, we are unable to. We get the error "Game session is no longer active". We have tried Hamachi, port forward, DMZ and disabling firewall, none of these have helped and we brought the game purely for coop zombies. This happens when I...
fojacko Online/Network Gaming Support 4 09-09-2011 01:46 PM
Call of Duty: World at War, the most difficult problem to solve
Okay, there's a rather weird problem with my Call of Duty World at War, that I've tried, seriously, to solve for over a year now. I bought the game back in 2009, played it for some months with no patches (it ran well and smoothly, no problems). Then I quitted playing and deleted the game, due to...
kikkeli PC Gaming Support 4 09-04-2011 05:22 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts