Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > PC Gaming Support

Advapi32.dll

This is a discussion on Advapi32.dll within the PC Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. im trying to run "Halo 2", when i click the setup i get this err messege...."The precedure entry point CreateProcessWithTokenW


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2008, 10:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
OS: xp


EEK!

im trying to run "Halo 2", when i click the setup i get this err messege...."The precedure entry point CreateProcessWithTokenW could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL".............i downloaded the ADVAPI32.DLL file and added it to my system folder,. .....it did no good...what is the meaning of this and how do i fix it ...thx

__________________
ClineTyme is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 10:50 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 254
OS: winxp



Where did you obtain the dll file in question? Sometimes those can be corrupt as well.

__________________
supermep is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 03:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
OS: xp



i got the dll file from dll-files.com......i also got it from another site just incase it was a bad file...still didnt do any good, i also ran all my spyware and my anti-virus programs, im all cleaned out, i also did a scan disk and defraged, any other solutions would be greatly appreciated, im think im going thru halo with-draws.....lol....thx
__________________
ClineTyme is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:27 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,516
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


when you got the file did you follow there instructions for installing the file,or did you just drop it in the system folder?

they do have some instructions for registering the file in the system registry.

If the problem still occurs, try the following:

* 1. Press Start and select Run
* 2. Type CMD and press Enter
* 3. Type regsvr32 "filename".dll and press Enter

i also merged your threads being they are on the same topic.also just to add i really doubt you will get banned for being a bit angry over a problem.also yes we do this on a total volunteer basis.
pharoah is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:56 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
OS: xp



i did just drop it in the system folder, i took ur steps to register it in the system registry, heres the message i got........

"Advapi32.dll was loaded, but the DllregisterServer entry point was not found. This file can not be registered."

I apologise for the rude post that i posted........
__________________
ClineTyme is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 02:01 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,516
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System


try moving that dll file to system32 folder in windows.i searched on my computer for the location of that dll,and thats where it is.it may be a simple case of it being in the wrong location.
pharoah is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:29 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
OS: xp



i downloaded another file and dropped it in my system and system32 folders, it asked me if i wanted to replace them w/ the new, i ok'd it, i tried to reg them again thru the cmd prompt and i still get that same message, "Advapi32.dll was loaded, but the DllregisterServer entry point was not found. This file can not be registered."
any other suggestions would be great.....thx
__________________
ClineTyme is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 03:06 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP sp2



hi i do hav d same probs showin "The precedure entry point CreateProcessWithTokenW could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL" wat i hav to do pz... help
__________________
remodude is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 08:24 PM   #9
Resident Pirate
 
Jack.Sparrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Qld, Aus
Posts: 17,863
OS: XP SP3/Vista SP1

My System


@ ClineTyme - Have you got Kernel32.dll, User32.dll, and Ole32.dll in the syste32 folder?

BTW, both these problems are related to Halo 2 correct?
In which case, correct me if I'm wrong, isn't it only for Vista? Both of you have XP listes as your OS.
Jack.Sparrow is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 10:21 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP



I as well am having problem with my computer and got "The precedure entry point CreateProcessWithTokenW could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL". Like the two other people, I was attempting to install halo 2 into my PC. Any advice would be appericated.
__________________
Nathvas is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 05:49 PM   #11
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Tiber Septim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 3,254
OS: Windows 7

My System


Did you read the post Jack Sparrow made?
You have XP listed as your OS, Halo 2 is Vista ONLY.
__________________
Help TSF beat Cancer and other serious Illness.
Tiber Septim is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:10 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP Proff SP2 2002 .ver



As the same error occured to me workin in XP......k....If i install in WIn Vista Will it work?
__________________
gameboy87 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 11:52 PM   #13
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


Halo should work on vista

__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts