Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Graveyard > Archives

PC not picking up IP from DHCP

This is a discussion on PC not picking up IP from DHCP within the Archives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2004, 04:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
MrAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP (Home/Pro)


Send a message via AIM to MrAnderson
Angry

Hey,

I’ve got a problem with one of my PCs not picking up the right IP from the host PC that is set for internet connection sharing...

Heres the setup...

PC 1 -
Desktop PC (WinXP Home), set up with internet connection sharing... (ie with the 192.186.0.1 IP)

(connection settings/protocols)
-Client for Microsoft Networks
-File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks
-QoS packet scheduler
-Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) (with internet sharing active so manually set with (192.186.0.1) (255.255.255.0))


PC 2 -
Laptop PC (WinXP Pro), set to "Obtain an IP address automatically", which it does, no problems...

(connection settings/protocols)
-Client for Microsoft Networks
-File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks
-Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) (set to obtain and does so picking up the (192.186.0.x) (255.255.255.0))


PC 3 -
Desktop PC (WinXP Home), set to "Obtain an IP address automatically", only thing is it doesn't....

(connection settings/protocols)
-Client for Microsoft Networks
-File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks
-Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) (picks up a weird IP (169.254.121.x) (255.255.0.0)
(no firewalls what so ever active)


Computers networked via 5port switch, all ports working fine etc....


so the thing is that the 3rd pc won't pick up the right IP (192.etc). So can anybody tell me why the PC3 wouldn't pick up the right IP while PC2 does, even though all their settings are just the same.
Or more importantly, can anyone tell me how to fix it........


Thanks!
Symo

__________________
MrAnderson is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:03 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

169.254.x.x is the autoconfiguration address when Windows can't contact a DHCP server. This is probably a cabling issue, or perhaps a poor connection at one of the cable ends. It could also be a bad NIC or port on the switch.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
MrAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP (Home/Pro)


Send a message via AIM to MrAnderson
Quote:
Originally posted by johnwill
169.254.x.x is the autoconfiguration address when Windows can't contact a DHCP server. This is probably a cabling issue, or perhaps a poor connection at one of the cable ends. It could also be a bad NIC or port on the switch.

no it isn't either or those, i've used the same cable / switch port, for PC2 that i was using with PC3 and it has worked fine.
__________________
MrAnderson is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:45 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Did you check the NIC?

There are a couple of things you can try if you're SURE the NIC is good and the connection is solid.

Reset TCP/IP Stack will set the TCP/IP to installation defaults, which should be what you need for this environment.

If you've removed any AdWare/Spyware with one of the various removal tools, this WINSOCK Fix will restore any damaged linkages.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 11:47 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28
OS: WinXP Pro


I'm having the same problem, one PC on my network is setting its IP to 169.254.120.86 and the subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 instead of 255.255.255.0, and of course, Default Gateway is completely blank. If you figure it out let me know.

Ok i figured out my problem. I had an extra network card, so I took the other one out and put this one in, and it works just fine now. It was working a few days ago.... so I dont know what happened to the network card in that time. Oh well, problem solved.
__________________
boardrx182 is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 05:19 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
MrAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP (Home/Pro)


Send a message via AIM to MrAnderson
Quote:
Originally posted by johnwill
Did you check the NIC?

Reset TCP/IP Stack will set the TCP/IP to installation defaults, which should be what you need for this environment.

If you've removed any AdWare/Spyware with one of the various removal tools, this WINSOCK Fix will restore any damaged linkages.
YES!!! thats done it! :D
thanks so much:)
__________________
MrAnderson is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 07:00 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Glad we were able to help. :)

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts