Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Wrapping text in Excel 2010

This is a discussion on Wrapping text in Excel 2010 within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have converted a form from Word to Excel in hope of being able to enter text more easily. Everything


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2010, 01:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I have converted a form from Word to Excel in hope of being able to enter text more easily. Everything went well until I came to the end of a merged cell row. The text will not wrap down to the next merged cell row. Is it possible to tell Excel to perform that bit of magic? I really do not like Word at all and would be very happy if I can get this to work.

__________________
jgreen19 is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:06 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,980
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Quote:
Originally Posted by jgreen19 View Post
I have converted a form from Word to Excel in hope of being able to enter text more easily.
I find it difficult to believe that a properly constructed form in Word would be inherently any more difficult to use than a form created in Excel.

Having said that, text wrapping in an Excel cell is usually just a matter of applying the wrapping attribute. However, you cannot have wrapped text flow into another cell (cells that are merged count as one cell in this respect).

__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is online now  
Old 10-23-2010, 07:39 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I don't use Word except to complete electronic documents. When entering text in the documents the form changes to make room for the text. I don't really know how to describe what is going on but it makes a mess out of the whole document.

Thanks for your response.
__________________
jgreen19 is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:28 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,980
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Quote:
Originally Posted by jgreen19 View Post
When entering text in the documents the form changes to make room for the text.
If you want the form to retain a pre-defined layout, obviously you'll need to allow sufficient space for the form fields to be filled in. You can perhaps best do this by placing the formfields into Word tables of fixed dimensions (no autofit columns and and settin the row height to 'exactly' whatever you require). That way the layout won't change as text is entered. By setting the 'maximum length' attribute, users will also be prevented from typing an essay into a field meant for a phrase. Even without that, using a table cell means that if they do, the overflow won't show.

Your table(s) can consist of a single cell or multiple cells anywhere in the body of the document.
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is online now  
Old 10-24-2010, 06:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I'm not going to pretend to understand what you just told me but I have printed it off and will do exactly as you say. I'm not real smart but I follow directions well. I can't wait to roll the amended form out to the office for distribution.

We're a bunch of mechanical contractors that can build or repair anything but software confounds us.

Thanks again
__________________
jgreen19 is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:30 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,980
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Here's some links that might help:
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/wo...005230270.aspx
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/212080
http://gregmaxey.mvps.org/Repeating_Data.htm
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/LinesInForms.htm
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is online now  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:55 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Thank you.

__________________
jgreen19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts