Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Word not saving

This is a discussion on Word not saving within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I try to save, a save as box appears (with name of existing file in box). Clicking save again


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2012, 08:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



When I try to save, a save as box appears (with name of existing file in box). Clicking save again from there just reproduces the save as box. When I save the file under new name, it creates a blank file.

To be clearer, when I choose Save, the status bar shows Word saving the file, but then stops about 2/3 along and then brings up the save as box. If I save as new file, it does the same, and then brings up the Save As box with the old file name. But creates the new file as blank.

The first time was disastrous, losing a day's work. After that, this problem keeps coming and going.

Somebody please help.

__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 01:00 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



You don't state which version of Office you have, but basically reinstalling (Repair & Detect in some versions) should solve the problem. Your documents won't be lost, but I'd back them up on an external media anyway.

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 04-07-2012, 03:37 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,420
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Yes and also version of Windows as well.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 04:27 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



Thanks, I will try that.
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:05 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



It's still doing it. I have lost two full days' work due to this. Please can someone help?
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:47 AM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



See if Word works properly in Safe Mode. If so, add-ins are the problem.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 04-08-2012, 09:53 AM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,420
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


We can't help you if you do not answer post # 3.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 10:32 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



Really sorry - Last post written in some distress! I'm using Windows 7 64 bit and Office Home and Student 2010. I will try safe mode, and post back.
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 05:46 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



It is still doing it in safe mode. Also disabled add-ons. In fact, it now seems to be doing it all the time, so I am having to copy and save everything as a text file, which is a bit of nightmare. I bet I'm going to have to do either a complete reinstall, or reformat.
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:05 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



Also all my macros have apparently been erased. I simply can't believe this is happening.
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:13 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



Have now completely uninstalled and reinstalled Word.

Still doing it.

Anyone?
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:18 AM   #12
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Has your 2010 Word ever worked or is this a new problem? This might seem strange, but some users having problems with Home & Student 64 bit had better luck with 32 bit version even though they had Windows7 64 bit OS. Finally, make sure you have installed all Office updates.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 04-10-2012, 01:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for replying.

What is happening is so surreal, I can't get my head around it.

I've used Word perfectly well in the year+ I've had this laptop.

I have just REFORMATTED the entire C drive.

I have installed Avast, Opera and Office, and nothing else so far. I have copied across the contents of my old libraries, and nothing else.

And it is STILL not saving!!

It sometimes (not always) saves files of smaller size - so I can kludge save work for the time being, touch wood. The size of the file I want to save is 675Kb. (I've happily saved much larger files.)

There is plenty of disk space, plenty of memory, no add-ins that don't come wrapped with Word. A fresh registry.

Please, can someone shed some light on this before I go completely insane?
__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 03:01 PM   #14
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Run sfc /scannow and see if there are any corrupt Windows files.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:42 PM   #15
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,958
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Cross-posted at: Word not saving
For cross-posting etiquette, please read: Excelguru Help Site - A message to forum cross posters

It seems a lot of support effort is being invested in both forums trying to help someone who rushes ahead and does things (eg reformatting & reinstalling stuff) that haven't been suggested, thereby adding to the woes (lost macros).
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:36 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7



Sorry about cross posting. I posted on the other site, but no one responded there for quite a long time, so then tried this site. Then both responded, and I was too desperate to consider matters of etiquette, I'm afraid.

The problem seems to be something to do with the documents themselves, I think. But I'll close this thread, since I started on the other site.

Sorry again, and thanks for your help.

__________________
cats-eye is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hp dv6700 will not power up
hi all my laptop was working great and then i tripped on the cord and the computer would not recognize that the ac adapter was plugged in, then the battery died and now when pressing the power button the battery light blinks 3 times. if i take out the battery i get nothing, the blue ring on the...
rotccapt Laptop Support 5 04-14-2012 06:45 AM
[SOLVED] DVD Disc shows empty in xp but not in Ubuntu
Dear all, I have a re-writable dvd disc from Verbatim and when I insert the disc into the DVD, the DVD shows as empty (I am using Win XP). This does not happen in Ubuntu. Will appreciate your help. I need to open it in windows. Thank you :smile:
Acer2000 Removable Media Drives 3 04-07-2012 04:05 PM
Hard Drive options not showing up for clean Windows 7 install
Hello, I purchased an Inspiron 15R today and wanted to do a clean install of Windows 7 right out of the box. I'm using a Windows 7 disk from another machine. I formatted the drive and all of it's partitions (recovery etc.) and installed the OS. After booting though I get sent to an error screen...
ah1986 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 14 04-07-2012 12:19 PM
[SOLVED] Car will not start
I do not hear the starter when trying to start my vehicle however the battery is good. The last time it was driven the low fuel light was lit, if it was a fuel issue would'nt you hear the starter?:huh:
pettway Automotive Support 2 04-07-2012 11:00 AM
Computer not posting - have beep codes
I have not been able to boot my PC today. it will not post at all and im getting a beep code. 1 long 2 short and its continuous till i shut down... i removed all ram and gpu but still get the same beep code. my mobo is an asus M4A785TDM-EVO i dont know my bios. i NEED my computer for many things...
curtbud Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 04-07-2012 06:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts