Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Word 2007 - Enter key not working

This is a discussion on Word 2007 - Enter key not working within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello Please can someone tell me how to get the enter key to work again in work 2007. It works


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2009, 08:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp


Cry

Hello

Please can someone tell me how to get the enter key to work again in work 2007. It works everywhere else. I hit enter and nothing happens, I've been using cut and paste of para to get on with my work but its not good enough.
Thanks!
Ephalump

__________________
ephalump42 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 01:10 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,981
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Hi Ephalump,

Have you tried repairing your Office installation (See Word Options|Resources|Diagnose)?

__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:54 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp


EEK!

Hi Macropod

Yes I have reinstalled the Office enterprise 2007 and it still hasn't resolved the probem. I can press shift enter and force a new line but its not a paragraph ending.

By the way enter works in all the other MS applications (except word) and is ok on internet and emails etc.

I'm att the doc I was working on when it all went pear-shaped for me (so doa scan before you open it - although it is from a trusted source). Hope you can help - desperate now!!

thanks
ephalump42
Attached Files
File Type: doc Ethics Medium High Risk Projects.doc (197.5 KB, 12 views)
__________________
ephalump42 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 11:53 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,981
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Hi Ephalump,

It's nothing to to with your document, as such. Reinstalling Word, without uninstalling it first, is unlikely to fix anything and is also unlikely to achieve anything that simply running the repair process wouldn't.

It seems to me the problem might be that you've re-assigned the Enter keystroke to something else. Try Select Tools|Customize>Keyboard>Reset all.
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 10:12 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



Sorry forgot to state the obvious about uninstalling word before installing it again.

Tried resetting the keyboard but still hasn't worked.

Thanks
Ephalump
__________________
ephalump42 is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 04:41 PM   #6
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,981
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Hi Ephalump,

Try the approaches suggested here:
http://www.wopr.com/index.php?showto...7&#entry197827
for various series of troubleshooting steps that hopefully will help you track down and solve the problem.
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 05:54 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



download and install CCleaner, delete temp files, run Registry cleaner. In Add Remove Programs next to Office, click Change. Try doing a Repair of Office or an Uninstall. Also in Word go to Tools/Options/Edit tab make sure Typing Replaces Selection is checked.
__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 06:06 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,981
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Hi Spike,

Did you read the previous discussion - other than running CCleaner (which I think is unlikely to fix anything in this case) and checking 'Typing Replaces Selection' (which has no effect on the Enter key's behaviour), Ephalump has done everything you've suggested.
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 11:01 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



Hi Macropod

Just did another reset of keyboard and its worked!!! Not sure why it didn't work first time I did reboot system as well - but i didn't have to do that this time.
Ty ty ty ty

__________________
ephalump42 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts