Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Word 2003 Font reverts to Times Roman 12

This is a discussion on Word 2003 Font reverts to Times Roman 12 within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to prepare documents using Arial 14 font. However, the font keeps reverting back to Times Roman 12--the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2012, 05:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Falmouth ME
Posts: 9
OS: XP


Cry

I am trying to prepare documents using Arial 14 font. However, the font keeps reverting back to Times Roman 12--the default font in the Normal dot template. How do I keep the Font at Arial 14, without having to continually change back from Times Roman 12? This seems to be a problem which has developed recently, as I have used Word 2003 for years.

__________________
Tim8806 is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 10:54 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,683
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Change as you've been doing to Arial 14. Now, open the Normal.dot template and bring up the Styles Window. Select Body Text style>Modify (Based on)>No Style>Format. You can not only select the font, but make other changes Apply (you have a new template) then hit any character>backspace>Delete. Word now knows that Normal.dot has been changed.
Now for us lazy people, prepare in any font and size and tell the person that's going to use the file to Select All and change the font and size. Pagenation does get messed up, but OK for short files.

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 03-06-2012, 12:07 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Falmouth ME
Posts: 9
OS: XP



Thanks so much for your help. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate Normal.dot to open. I went to Tools/Options/File Locations, but next to Workgroup template is a blank space where I feel the Normal.dot template should be. I think my Normal.dot template may have been permanently compromised by a virus.
I can probably use your 2nd option. Thanks again.
Tim
__________________
Tim8806 is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 01:56 PM   #4
Team Manager, Articles
Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
Glaswegian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 38,449
OS: Win XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Pro

My System


If you can find your Normal.dot file then delete it and restart Word. It will create a new template for you.
__________________
Iain - Defender of the Haggis and all things Scottish.
I don't help by PM - post in the Forums.



PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Photographers Corner
Glaswegian is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 04:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Falmouth ME
Posts: 9
OS: XP



I don't seem to be able to find it.
__________________
Tim8806 is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:07 AM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,683
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Try using "Search". How To Search for Files and Folders in Windows XP

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Count to a million...
The aim of the game is... ...to count to a million. You count in 3s... Each poster posts their number like below (to avoid the "your post is too small")... 1, 2, 3,
Redeye3323 Forum Games and Jokes 18621 Yesterday 04:13 AM
adding a second or even third monitor with mint 12
Not sure whether this is a hardware or linux question so I will put it here. I have a computer with a gigabyte 880gm-ud2h mobo (video, sound, etc all on the mobo), 2 gb ram (soon to have 4gb, and a 2 tb hard drive) I just installed Linux mint 12. I have a 24" aoc 2436vw lcd monitor attached to...
pengyou Linux Support 4 03-15-2012 08:18 AM
.csv to graph program???
Can anyone suggest a program that can plot a MS Excel .csv file on a graph in real-time? I have LiveGraph 2.0, but I need something more advanced, it does not have enough features for my application. Likewise, can MS Excel plot column values into a graph? The .csv file I am generating updates 100...
audiobahn1000 Microsoft Office support 6 03-10-2012 10:59 PM
Emails don't appear in Outlook 2003
Emails suddenly stopped appearing in my Outlook 2003. I can access them on my laptop by going to rr.com. In Tools/Accounts in Outlook my account seems to be entered correctly for pop-server and smtp-server.
Tim8806 Microsoft Office support 3 03-07-2012 07:05 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts