Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Urgent help needed with corrupt office 2003

SOLVED 
2K views 22 replies 5 participants last post by  Stancestans 
#1 ·
Hello to all,

I am not very good at computers and the following happened. Yesterday all of a sudden my signature on new mail sent dissappear. Then when I change it from HTML,i could sent mail. Now I cannot open any of my older word documents. Get error that says file is locked and in use with other user.

It is office 2003 on xp. Yes, I know it is old,but for now its all I have. I also do not have the disk of office 2003. I can get 2007 with serial number. If I install that,will I loose all my mail,as it is important for my business.

Hope somebody can help me.
Thank You.
d.

#3 ·
Hello to all,
Hi :wavey: :welcome: to TSF!

Now I cannot open any of my older word documents. Get error that says file is locked and in use with other user.
I do not see the error you mention in the screenshots you posted. Try opening the word document using the Word web app available at https://products.office.com/en-us/office-online/documents-spreadsheets-presentations-office-online. You may have to sign up for a Microsoft account before you can use it. Alternatively, you can use Google Docs here https://www.google.com/docs/about/ and see if your word document is still intact and not corrupted. If the document opens just fine and there appears to be no corruption to its contents, make a backup of ALL your important documents. You are treading on dangerous grounds by running XP on your work/business computer.

It is office 2003 on xp. Yes, I know it is old,but for now its all I have. I also do not have the disk of office 2003. I can get 2007 with serial number. If I install that,will I loose all my mail,as it is important for my business.

Hope somebody can help me.