Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

The operating system is not presently configured to run this application

This is a discussion on The operating system is not presently configured to run this application within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm trying to open my microsoft word 2007 but it is giving me a message "the operating system is not


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2008, 11:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



I'm trying to open my microsoft word 2007 but it is giving me a message "the operating system is not presently configured to run this application".

I have installed Microsoft Office 2007 Ultimate and i am currently using Windows Vista Ultimate SP1.

Does anybody know how i can fix this problem?

I have also tried removing Microsoft Office but it gives me the same message.

__________________
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 03:21 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



Sorry for double but is there anybody that can help me? :s i've been trying to fix it for almost a month now.

__________________
Milk Rulz is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:15 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 (64-bit home, 32-bit work)



Did you uninstall any previous versions of Office before installing this version?

You can try:
To run a check/scan disk:
1. Click on Start >> My Computer
2. Right click on your C drive and choose Properties
3. Switch to the Tools tab.
4. You should see an "Error Checking" section with a button saying check now. Click this button.
5. Check the "Automatically fix..." box and start the scan.
6. Once it's finished, follow the same steps (2-5) for your D drive too.
Now we can repair Windows. Easiest way to do this is to reinsert your Office CD. Proceed through the setup until you get to screen asking you what type of install you would like. There should be an option for repair. Select this then follow the instructions on the screen. http://www.askmehelpdesk.com/other-s...lem-13156.html

Here are some links that may be useful:
http://forums.techguy.org/business-a...onfigured.html
http://www.mombu.com/microsoft/offic...is-293627.html
__________________
biz_kid1 is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 06:46 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 (7600) x64 MSDN /legit



I didn't install with a disk, i downloaded the installer. No i didn't install any previous versions and when i run the installer again it gives me the same error message. And disk checking isn't doing anything :\
__________________
Milk Rulz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts