Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

[SOLVED] There is not enough memory or disk space to run Word

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] There is not enough memory or disk space to run Word within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. That's what the pop-up says when I try to open MS Word. It was working well earlier today, but that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2008, 04:58 PM   #1
Just hanging around
 
beefers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,899
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

My System


That's what the pop-up says when I try to open MS Word. It was working well earlier today, but that suddenly happened. I found several posts like this elsewhere online, but they're all dealing with the beta version. Has anyone gotten this problem with the retail version? Anyone know of a possible solution? Thanks.

__________________
beefers1 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 06:42 AM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,958
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Hi beefers,

You can get this problem if you're trying to access files on removable media or if there are too many tmp files in your temp folder.

__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 10:18 AM   #3
Just hanging around
 
beefers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,899
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

My System


I thought of that, and deleted everything in the temp folder. Still that problem. Even after an uninstall and reinstall, it still doesn't work.
__________________
beefers1 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 02:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 200
OS: xp



How much space do you have left on your hard drive? If its pretty full try using TreeSize. Its a free program and works pretty well, it'll tell you see which folders are taking up the most space and then you can go through them and see what you want to remove.

Don't know if that'll help.
__________________
PG Croat is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 04:59 PM   #5
Just hanging around
 
beefers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,899
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

My System


I have 52GB free, with 11GB on the main windows (C:) drive. That shouldn't be a problem, should it?
__________________
beefers1 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 07:18 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 200
OS: xp



No, you have far more than enough space as far as I know.
__________________
PG Croat is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 12:56 AM   #7
Just hanging around
 
beefers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,899
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

My System


but i have 2.85GB of RAM for use, with more than 2.5GB available at most times.

Anyway, I'm suspecting that it has actually nothing to do with memory or hard drive constraints. I'm asking for help on finding another possible cause so I can deal with it. Thanks.
__________________
beefers1 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 07:44 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 200
OS: xp



Have you tried running it in safe mode? It may possibly be an add-in or template. Running it in safe mode will turn them off and if it runs normally then its an add-in. After that its a matter of figuring out which one is causing the problem and turning it off.

just go to Start>Run.. and enter WINWORD.EXE /a

I don't know if that's the problem but its worth a shot.
__________________
PG Croat is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 08:17 PM   #9
Just hanging around
 
beefers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,899
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

My System


Croat, I don't mean to sound rude or anything, but I'm sorry, nothing of what you described fits mine situation. Nothing was added on (maybe I should've said that in the first place; in which case, my apologies). Only a few settings were changed from the original state when installed. It was working fine one day, then suddenly, when I closed a document and tried to open another, that message popped up. I really appreciate the effort, Croat, but maybe another user would also like to help me.
__________________
beefers1 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 03:24 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
ratcat73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Vista Home Basic


Send a message via MSN to ratcat73

G'day everybody,

Just the other night the computer did a 'Windows Update' and I got a messages saying out of disc space (17GB free space) and one or two other messages that made me go .

So I clean out the temp file and then did a Checkdisc

So far touch wood, no problems so far.

HTH
__________________
ratcat73 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 10:24 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 200
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by beefers1 View Post
Croat, I don't mean to sound rude or anything, but I'm sorry, nothing of what you described fits mine situation. Nothing was added on (maybe I should've said that in the first place; in which case, my apologies). Only a few settings were changed from the original state when installed. It was working fine one day, then suddenly, when I closed a document and tried to open another, that message popped up. I really appreciate the effort, Croat, but maybe another user would also like to help me.
No worries. I just suggested that cause sometimes those add-ins are added in automatically through an update and such. Sometimes it takes a certain situation to set of the error. When it comes to Microsoft Office application this is usually the first step I take if its not immediately obvious. I'm just going through some troubleshooting techniques I use at work.

On a side note, I'm not exactly stopping others from helping you.
__________________
PG Croat is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 06:04 PM   #12
Just hanging around
 
beefers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,899
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

My System


I never said you were stopping others, Croat. Anyway, I gave up and simply created another account and transferred all my documents to there. Thanks for your help, everyone.
__________________
beefers1 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 06:52 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP



hi all,
I have the same problem.
I deleted all files in the temp folder.
I have 1GB space in C drive and memeory is 1GB.
But the problem isn't resolved.

Please help me.

Thanks in advance.
Komoll.
__________________
Komoll is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 11:03 PM   #14
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,958
OS: Win 7 (64-bit)



Hi Komoll,

Try the approaches suggested here:
http://www.wopr.com/index.php?showto...7&#entry197827
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/AppErrors/...artingWord.htm and
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/921541
for various series of troubleshooting steps that will help you track down (and hopefully solve) the problem.
__________________
Cheers
Paul Edstein
[MS MVP -Word]

macropod is offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 05:49 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
OS: windows vista


Cool

try this out.
do a repair of the O.S. and i'm very sure u won't get the error message again. it worked for me. safe

__________________
puffnas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts