Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Outlook still "Disconnected"

This is a discussion on Outlook still "Disconnected" within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. referencing this thread This issue seems to come and go, and only for this one user. Since my last post,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2011, 11:36 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
OS: xp



referencing this thread

This issue seems to come and go, and only for this one user. Since my last post, this user was using Outlook just fine. This afternoon, he had to restart his laptop. When he logged back in, he was now "Disconnected" and could not connect again.

I went onto the mail server and increased the MAPI connection limit from 32 (default) to 100 to make sure he wasn't being bogged down by that, and it didn't help.

I cleared the security logs as well, and he still cannot connect.

I'm running out of ideas here, and I know this forum is always a great help. Any ideas, or other places to look would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You

__________________
JKnowles is offline  
Old 02-08-2011, 01:35 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,300
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Did you try DJaburg's suggestions from the last post?

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 05:22 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
OS: xp



I didn't actually. I will have my user try using the IP address, but I'm confused about the subnet mask thing.

The user doesn't have the ability to change his subnet mask, and this issue just started happening. Is it still possible that he could be seeing a conflict in subnet masks out of the blue like that?

I'll have him check it either way, but just wanted some clarification for my own knowledge on that one.

Thanks! I'll update the thread once I have him try this.
__________________
JKnowles is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:48 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 77
OS: xp



This user has 2 different subnet masks, one for his Ethernet adapter and one for the VPN connection he has to the server.

These are the same as on the server. I checked my laptop (from home, connected via VPN) and my laptop has the same subnet masks, but I do not have any issues with Outlook.

He was unable to change the IP on his email. I take it he has to remove his account and recreate it? If so, I'll have to let him know that.
__________________
JKnowles is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 04:23 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 794
OS: W7, W8, WinSrvr



I don't know the details from last post. But have this experience I will share.
Using Outlook connecting to Exchange Server :
check the TCP/IP settings in the network adapter. Check the DNS setups. You should have ONLY primary DNS setup, and that configured to the IP address of your Active Directory server.
A common problem seems to be where a secondary DNS is entered, as an external public DNS. I've seen that situation cause "not connecting" issues with Outlook.
__________________
clyde123 is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 07:34 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



It sounds to me that you have two DNS servers at play. One is giving you the internal IP Address for the Exchange server, and the other is giving you an external address.

This is what I think is happening.

When it started working, he was using the Working DNS Server and that continued to work as normal. When he restarted, the DNS Cache was Flushed and it needed to look up the IP address again. When it did that, it contacted the Incorrect DNS server and got that wrong IP address.

Get him to load up Command Prompt, and type in "IPConfig /all" (without the quotes).
Ask him to tell you what the DNS Servers entries are. Remember that if he has two entries, it might be on two lines. Compare it with yours and see if there is a difference.

If there is a difference, use Command Prompt on his computer and use nslookup to compare the results.

Hope that helps
__________________
Kesher is offline  
Old 02-16-2011, 09:19 AM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,735
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



Quote:
Originally Posted by JKnowles View Post
I didn't actually. I will have my user try using the IP address, but I'm confused about the subnet mask thing.

The user doesn't have the ability to change his subnet mask, and this issue just started happening. Is it still possible that he could be seeing a conflict in subnet masks out of the blue like that?

I'll have him check it either way, but just wanted some clarification for my own knowledge on that one.

Thanks! I'll update the thread once I have him try this.
My point had to do with subnets, not the subnet mask. I'll try to explain.

If the remote user has a router, for the sake of example a linksys, and it's handing out IP addresses 192.168.1.x and the network in the office that he's connecting to ALSO has network addresses in the 192.168.1.x subnet, you can have major issues finding computers on the office network when connected remotely. The computer isn't necessarily sure which network you want to look at when you're looking for addresses/computers, such as the exchange server. Hopefully that makes sense. I'm not sure what kind of router you're using in the office, but some routers (like the sonicwall I have) will not allow you to even connect via VPN if you're using the same subnet, whereas linksys routers like the RV042 WILL allow you to connect, except you can rarely find anything on the network because it's always looking on the local network, not the office network.

The reason I think this could be a factor is that you (and presumably other remote workers) can access the exchange server fine, but he can't. I'd start looking at whether he can even see the exchange server from his computer while connected via VPN. Try pinging the server from his computer and see if he can even "see" the server.

__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlook 2000 Freezing
I'm on a Dell Dimension 2350 with Windows XP. Microsoft Office 2000. Within last day started having problem with Outlook. When I open outlook computer gets very slow and takes about a minute to open Outlook. Then it settles down, but if I try to print an email in outlook, computer freezes until...
peretzperl Microsoft Office support 1 01-25-2011 06:58 PM
Outlook 2003 sends test email OK but not email message
Hi, I cannot send outgoing email from Outlook 2003. I am able to receive email with no problems. When trying to send email I get an error stating "sending error received (0x800CCC0F)"The connection to the server was interupted... the server responded 553.5.1 ?? does not exist E2110" I have...
Podling Microsoft Office support 9 01-24-2011 01:28 PM
Virus gone, but Outlook 2003 is trying to install something!
This is for my step-mothers PC, so I can't immediately check anything anyone might suggest. :( My step-mother uses Outlook 2003 for her email (WinXP Pro). The OEM version of Office 2003 was installed on her PC when she bought it, so she doesn't have the original installation CD's. Her...
Mugsy323 Microsoft Office support 0 01-16-2011 02:58 PM
Microsoft Outlook 2000 - 2 Error Messages
Hi Fellow Techies, I have two brand new computers running Windows 7 Home. I have installed Microsoft Office Small Business 2000 on both with Outlook 2000. I have brought over from the two old computers, all .pst accounts. I have two sceranios going on... 1st computer -When Outlook is opened,...
TechConsultant Microsoft Office support 1 01-14-2011 11:46 AM
Email hyper links clicked open up ie instead of outlook new mail page***
I click on a mailto: hyperlink (someones email address link) either in email or on a web page and it opens up a blank Internet Explorer page instead of a new email page in outlook. I have vista ultimate 64 and run office outlook 07. I can see outlook has its self checked as default program....
dan__ Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 01-07-2011 10:31 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts