Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

How to convert HTML to Word doc?

This is a discussion on How to convert HTML to Word doc? within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm running XP Home w/Office 2003 Pro w/SP3. I have a HTML document that I want to convert to Word

Closed Thread

Old 10-30-2007, 07:08 PM   #1
Registered Member

I'm running XP Home w/Office 2003 Pro w/SP3.

I have a HTML document that I want to convert to Word format. Is there a way to do that using Word, or any other software included in Office 2003 Pro?

I poked around a bit and did not see anything that looked like it would work, but admittedly am a complete novice when it comes to using the Office applications.

I also tried downloading and installing some trial packages that claimed they would convert HTML to Word, but the fonts were wrong and the graphics were not placed properly.

Any advice or suggestion is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Old 10-31-2007, 04:27 AM   #2
Resident Pirate

My System

Hey Dude,

A HTML document, as you might know, is a webpage, so you could simple open it up using a web browser (IE, Firefox etc), copy everything there and paste it into a word document.

Old 10-31-2007, 04:33 AM   #3
Registered Member

Hi,

You can also right click on the html document and then choose edit.
It automatically opens in Word. Then you can save it as a .doc file.
Old 10-31-2007, 06:03 AM   #4
Registered Member

Thanks for your replies. I appreciate your time.

>> ..copy everything there and paste it into a word document..
That "sort of" works, and is OK for text-only pages and is OK for some very basic HTML pages, but for virtually all the ones I tried, the formatting is not rendered properly - images are placed incorrectly, sometimes even missing, and CSS layout seems to be ignored completely.

>> ..Then you can save it as a .doc file..