Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Excel 2007 Copy and Paste issues

This is a discussion on Excel 2007 Copy and Paste issues within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all I have a big Master copy in Excel 2007 with about 800 rows and 20 columns. Issue 1:

Closed Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 05:49 AM   #1
Registered Member

Question

Hi all

I have a big Master copy in Excel 2007 with about 800 rows and 20 columns.

Issue 1: When ever I need to copy and paste some of the data into another excel workbook, all I get is BLANK cells.
I seem to highlight the amount of cells I copied but the data is blank when I paste. - No error message on this one and the only way I can get around it is by using paste special and text only. But I just want to be able to copy and paste the data in one go.

Issue 2: Also, I ensured that the whole master copy is formatted the same...same font, and formatting for dates or currencies is done by entire column and sometimes, I get the error message: "too many different format" even i I try to only paste 5 cells into another workbook.

Can anyone help? I can deal with it but my colleague are driving me crazy!!!!

Thank you kindly

Nyoka

Old 02-23-2009, 12:57 PM   #2
Team Manager, Articles
Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy

My System

Hi and welcome.

I don't use XL2007 so I'm not sure this will help. Are the cells you are copying protected and perhaps contain formulae? Have you tried a copy then Paste Special > Paste Values?

When you say formatting is done by entire columns, have you formatted the entire column or just the cells you need? This is not an issue in XL2002 because the number of rows in a sheet is still 65536 but I know that 2007 has a great many more rows. Just a thought - hopefully someone else will have other suggestions.

PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Photographers Corner
Old 09-09-2009, 07:55 AM   #3
Registered Member

Nyoka -