Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Error Message: Incorrect Product Key

This is a discussion on Error Message: Incorrect Product Key within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone Last resort. i tried to contact microsoft support because somewhere on the site it had said someone there


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2010, 12:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
MsCurmudgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 10
OS: vista


Question

Hi everyone

Last resort.

i tried to contact microsoft support because somewhere on the site it had said someone there could issue new product code, but apparently email, chat and phone support have been disabled for office 2007.

if i would still like support, i would have to pre-pay $40 and no guarantee issue will be resolved. or, hey, purchase office 2010 for $270 something.

sorry, but that sticks in my craw.

posted the question in microsoft office forum, no reply.

Issue:

Recently had to have system restore done on HP Pavilion dv6000. (did end up purchasing restore disks from HP during this process)

The laptop did not come with a disk (purchased in 2008 from circuit city, now defunct). programs including windows vista home premium came pre-installed, again, no disk. Shortly thereafter realized i needed to upgrade so as to be able to scan and fax. one could not do an online upgrade to windows vista ultimate (with service pack 1), i had to wait for a disk. which i did. loaded it, promptly crashed laptop. had to bring it back to pc consultant who had assisted me with which laptop to purchase with what programs, apps and add-ons (no longer in business).

After the restore, thinking nothing of it, go to open office 2007. asked for product key. again, thought nothing of it, it's on a label on the bottom of the laptop. repeatedly get error message "incorrect product key".

finally found the disk to the windows anytime upgrade pack/widows vista ultimate with service pack 1, entered *that* product key.

same result.

running vista 32 bit
kapersky anti-virus
ie 8
although default browser of choice chrome

any other info i should provide?

thanks very much i greatly appreciate it.

__________________
MsCurmudgeon is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 02:08 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Moc osx 10.6,windows 7, ios4.2


Quote:
Originally Posted by MsCurmudgeon
Hi everyone

Last resort.

i tried to contact microsoft support because somewhere on the site it had said someone there could issue new product code, but apparently email, chat and phone support have been disabled for office 2007.

if i would still like support, i would have to pre-pay $40 and no guarantee issue will be resolved. or, hey, purchase office 2010 for $270 something.

sorry, but that sticks in my craw.

posted the question in microsoft office forum, no reply.

Issue:

Recently had to have system restore done on HP Pavilion dv6000. (did end up purchasing restore disks from HP during this process)

The laptop did not come with a disk (purchased in 2008 from circuit city, now defunct). programs including windows vista home premium came pre-installed, again, no disk. Shortly thereafter realized i needed to upgrade so as to be able to scan and fax. one could not do an online upgrade to windows vista ultimate (with service pack 1), i had to wait for a disk. which i did. loaded it, promptly crashed laptop. had to bring it back to pc consultant who had assisted me with which laptop to purchase with what programs, apps and add-ons (no longer in business).

After the restore, thinking nothing of it, go to open office 2007. asked for product key. again, thought nothing of it, it's on a label on the bottom of the laptop. repeatedly get error message "incorrect product key".

finally found the disk to the windows anytime upgrade pack/widows vista ultimate with service pack 1, entered *that* product key.

same result.

running vista 32 bit
kapersky anti-virus
ie 8
although default browser of choice chrome

any other info i should provide?

thanks very much i greatly appreciate it.
You need to input the product key from the microsoft office 07 package. Not the product key from the microsoft windows vista package.

__________________
Granddesign is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
MsCurmudgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 10
OS: vista



ohhhh.

hmm. don't have it; was pre-installed with no disk in package as per original post, and apparently it went bye-bye during the restore.

since microsoft no longer providing customer support for office 2007 i guess them's the breaks as they say.
__________________
MsCurmudgeon is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 06:02 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
djaburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,753
OS: XP SP3/Vista/7 Server 2K/2K3/2K8 Linux



You could always use something like OpenOffice.
__________________


From time to time, we have been tempted to believe that society has become too complex to be managed by self-rule, that government by an elite group is superior to government for, by, and of the people. But if no one among us is capable of governing himself, then who among us has the capacity to govern someone else?
-Ronald Reagan, 1981 Inaugural Address-
djaburg is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:10 PM   #5
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,467
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

If it was a full version of office and not a trial version that came with the computer you should have the key on a coa stuck on the computer case. The sticker should be specifically for office 2007

If it was a trial version, which most computer comes with, and you purchased a key later, then you need to go to the website you purchased that key at, log into your account (accounts are required at most online locations) and the key should be there.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 06:29 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
MsCurmudgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 10
OS: vista



@djaburg - have heard mention of it, will look into it

@ sobeit - a previous responder told me code i was using from bottom of my laptop not for office {shrug}. unit was not purchased online but at a now defunct brick and mortar establishment. was a full version, not a trial.

i do appreciate the responses. this is 300% more than i got from the official site, lol!


__________________
MsCurmudgeon is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 06:32 AM   #7
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,467
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

there would be two stickers or labels on your case - one for your operating system and one for your office. As I said the sticker would specifically say Office 2007.

And as I already said, you will only have that sticker if you purchased the computer with the full version of office (not trial) installed. It makes no difference if the computer was purchased online or at a local store since it was a hp.

__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts