Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

Embedded video in Publisher 2010

This is a discussion on Embedded video in Publisher 2010 within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone :) I am fairly new to publisher, and fairly new to office 2010 (Where did all my lovely

Closed Thread

Old 04-03-2011, 04:56 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi everyone :)
I am fairly new to publisher, and fairly new to office 2010 (Where did all my lovely menus go!?), although I am a power user of excel and access.

I am responsible for making a digital newsletter, and I would like to embed a youtube video in it. Currently I design the newsletter in Publisher 2010 and output it to PDF using CutePDF (which I have a sneaky suspicion will prevent me from doing what I want anyway).

I have heard that in older versions of Publisher you could embed videos using the Insert> HTML Fragment command, however that doesn't seem to be enabled on Publisher 2010. Does anyone know of a way I can embed a youtube video into my publisher file?

Thanks in advance!
~Shiv

Old 04-05-2011, 11:14 AM   #2
- Microsoft Support Team
- Networking Team

Hey Shiv,

I've never used Publisher but you haven't had any replies so I'll take a shot.

I know Publisher doesn't have a video player so you will have to embed a code (such as that from your youtube video). In order for the publication to take HTML code, it has to be a web publication (This is my thoughts on it, then you can add HTML Fragment).

I am not sure if CutePDF will translate this correctly, just test it out. I know that PDF's can contain flash videos and the only requirement for the end user is that they have a flash player. If you have Adobe Acrobat, its pretty easy to do.

Let us know if it helps or if we need to try something else.

Regards,

Robert D. Specian Jr.

Old 04-05-2011, 11:54 PM   #3
Registered Member

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the reply!