Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Microsoft Office support

"Cannon Open The Clipboard" error in Excel

This is a discussion on "Cannon Open The Clipboard" error in Excel within the Microsoft Office support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. PLEASE HELP!!!! I get an error message stating "Cannot Open The Clipboard" when I try to copy a cell in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2012, 07:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows 2007



PLEASE HELP!!!!

I get an error message stating "Cannot Open The Clipboard" when I try to copy a cell in Excel. It doesn't happen every time I try to copy, but it happens very often and for no reason. If I continue to copy the cell it will eventually stop popping up and actually copy the cell. Although it may seem minor when you work in Excel ALL day long and this happens constantly thru out the day, it is very annoying and frustrating. I have googled for an answer but can't find anything. I have tried making sure the Clipboard is cleared and it is. if anybody can hep me fix this problem that would be great.

I have attached a screenshot of the error.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Clipboard error.bmp (307.4 KB, 589 views)

__________________
mwesson48 is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:09 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,232
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



The usual cause is another program using the clipboard and not releasing it. If you need immediate relief see: Delete items from the Office Clipboard - Word - Office.com

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows 2007



Corday-

The lihk you provided gives instructions on how to delete items from your clipboard. I have already done that and it doesn't fix the problem.
__________________
mwesson48 is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:09 PM   #4
Team Manager, Articles
Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
Glaswegian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 38,490
OS: Win XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Pro

My System


Hi

Try this

"Cannot open Clipboard" - Microsoft Answers

Edit> This might help as well

Excel 2010: Cannot open Clipboard - Windows Software
__________________
Iain - Defender of the Haggis and all things Scottish.
I don't help by PM - post in the Forums.



PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Photographers Corner
Glaswegian is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:41 PM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,232
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Hopefully Glaswegian's fix worked for you. I wasn't sure of your OS (Windows 2007?) but now that I see you're on Windows 7: Task Mgr.>Process>Turn Off rdclip.exe. Open Excel>Tools>Options>Calculations>Calculation- Check Automatic>ReBoot Computer. Now clear the clipboard as you did before but at the bottom of the Window select Collect without showing Office clipboard and again reboot.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is online now  
Old 01-26-2012, 05:36 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows 2007



Glaswegian and Corday-

I tried all three suggestions and neither worked. The settings were already set as the instructions you provided had listed.

This is the strangest and most aggravating thing.
__________________
mwesson48 is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 06:38 AM   #7
Team Manager, Articles
Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
Glaswegian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 38,490
OS: Win XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Pro

My System


Have you tried a Repair on Excel?

Repair Excel 2003, Excel 2007, and Excel 2010

I have to say I have my doubts that there is actually a fix for this issue - I haven't been able to find a definitive answer so far.
__________________
Iain - Defender of the Haggis and all things Scottish.
I don't help by PM - post in the Forums.



PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Photographers Corner
Glaswegian is offline  
Old 06-21-2012, 02:22 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
OS: win7



Here is the fix I used with success.

start>
Run>
Type services.msc
look for> Network DDE & Network DDE DSM
~Enable both and set to Automatic and click start
Look for> ClipBook
~ Enable> Set to Automatic and click start.

This worked for me on a few PC we had here at the office.

__________________
Siburmax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM
excel attachments won't open in outlook 2007
excel attachments won't open in outllok 2007 but can view in full screen
rkmag Microsoft Office support 0 02-03-2011 06:04 AM
Sluggish Computer & Excel Performance
I have an HP Pavilion laptop that I bought in 2006. From time to time over the past year or so I've had problems using Excel 2003 and the computer itself. I've been able to rectify these problems in the past to some degree by running Norton, as I have this time. Nothing has improved. The Excel...
Vinman11 Windows XP Support 9 01-25-2011 12:13 AM
unable to open an existing excel file
1) File named say BUSINESS is in MS Excel 2000 > 2) Operating system : MS windows XP professional, version 2002, service pack 2> 3) working on Dell's laptop > 4)Opened another temporary sample Excel file, --> worked on MB--> TOOLS --> OPTIONS --> Check Box* Ignore other options --> made sure...
nagkudlig Microsoft Office support 0 01-19-2011 10:50 AM
How to disable your security applications
Note: Those which do not have the instructions for re-enabling are usually re-enabled by a reboot. Once the scans are completed, be sure to Turn On "Real-Time Scanning". Adaware 10 Free/Pro Antivirus Open Ad-aware 10 Click on "Real-time Protection" in the left panel, and toggle it...
amateur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 06-14-2010 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts