Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

yellow ? against port 1 and 2 plus error 633

2K views 5 replies 1 participant last post by  wippit 
#1 ·
Hi, afraid i'm a novice so hope i give the correct info needed to answear my problem.
i'm running xp home on an AMD Duron 900 mhz with k7s5a motherboard.
whenever i try to connect to the internet i get error 633, i went into device manager and found yellow ? against comm port 1 and 2 with code 39 against both, and same with pci simple comm controller and multimedia audio which both have code 28.

I think it's best to mention that everything was working well untill i installed xp home but didn't save my settings and thats when my pc said it could'nt detect my modem so i downloaded a drive which it says is okay the modem is on port 3.
hope someone out there can help

many thanks in advance

wippit

G
#2 ·
Hi,

Let's try to get the modem bug fixed first. Try this:

Use the computer you are using now to download the latest and newest drivers from your manufacturer's website. OK, so you have a disk, download them anyhow from the website.

Physically remove all modems from the computer.

Enter Start, Control Panel, System, Hardware, Device Manager, and then Delete ALL references to a modem.

Shut down and Reinstall your modem in PCI #3 or the third slot down from the AGP port. (by the way, next time you post, tell us what type and brand name of modem you have)

Boot UP and enter BIOS setup menu.

Find the PnP area and with XP be sure to DISABLE that item. (If you were using Win98, then I would have asked you to Enable it)

Save your settings and exit...then reboot.

When it finds your modem, then be sure you force feed the latest and best drivers (remember those I asked you to download) to the modem. Pay no attention if your computer tells you the XP drivers are fine, they are old v.90 and do not work a great deal of the time)

That should make it purr............well, anyway, I hope so.

#3 ·