Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Temporary Internet Files...

4K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  deleted16062011 
#1 ·
Well, I'm a system admin here, and I have a bit of a confusing question. I hope I can make it clear. It appears, that when one tries to access their OWN temporary internet files folder (C:\Documents and Settings\USER\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files), it comes up with a huge list of files. Anyone that's looked here before will recall that it normally sorts this into folders (Content.IE5, OLK22, etc) and then again into subfolders. However, you try pulling that up and you'll just get lots of files, no folders whatsoever in Temporary Internet Files. However, if you actually type in the extended path, the folders exist, they're just not displaying.

Further, if any OTHER user tries viewing that folder? Those category folders show up in the traditional manner. Even the administrator account has this issue. You access your own Temporary Internet Files folder, it shows files only, access it from another admin account, shows the folders as it used to display. I can post screenshots if this isn't clear enough. This happens at my home system and on every Windows XP and Windows 2000 machine here at work. Anyone know when this happened, because it's obviously a Microsoft originating issue. Is it just isolated to me, or is there a MS patch note I missed somewhere?

#3 ·
Yup! Can clear them just fine from another admin account other than your own, can delete the folders and everything. If you delete the files from your own account, you only empty the folders. But you can delete the folders from another account and they recreate, but the problem remains. Anyone see anything in the recent patches?

#4 ·
I believe this behaviour is by design. (There must be some Registry setting controlling this, but I'll need to look into it.)