Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

Some websites say I have Ver 7 of IE

This is a discussion on Some websites say I have Ver 7 of IE within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My laptop has Windows 7 home Premium 64-bit with IE 8 but I keep getting messages from websites saying screen


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2011, 09:43 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



My laptop has Windows 7 home Premium 64-bit with IE 8
but I keep getting messages from websites saying screen will not show correctly or can't open because I have an older version of IE (IE 7 or older) but I don't.

AND I'm skeptical about upgrading to IE 9 - seems to still have a bunch of problems with IE 9


Any ideas??


Thanks loads

__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-10-2011, 02:24 PM   #2
Design Team
 
DDAoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 279
OS: Windows 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7, Server 2003, Server 2008, Server 2012, Linux, UNIX

My System


This isn't really an issue with anything you're doing, but with Microsoft. I've encountered a similar result on many websites, some of my own creation. Microsoft, in their infinite wisdom (I love Windows, but I still see the error of their ways. ;)), did not change the engrained version information of IE 8 that these websites access to determine your browser version. Some programmers compensate for this by comparing other hidden information of the browser, but most do not.

I've never used IE 9, mainly because it isn't available to me in Afghanistan, but I highly suggest that if this is causing you problems you either upgrade to the latest available version of IE or use another browser, such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

__________________
I will not provide support in response to PMs or e-mails. If you require support, please post a thread in the appropriate section.
Please bare in mind that no individual is all-knowing on anything. Take the advice and knowledge of everyone and make your own knowledge database.
DDAoN is offline  
Old 07-10-2011, 02:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



That's a great idea. Thanks loads.

I pray all is well with you & yours in Afghanistan
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-10-2011, 03:16 PM   #4
Design Team
 
DDAoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 279
OS: Windows 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7, Server 2003, Server 2008, Server 2012, Linux, UNIX

My System


Thank you for the concern, but we're well trained. Please, let me know if there is anything else that I can do for you. ^^
__________________
I will not provide support in response to PMs or e-mails. If you require support, please post a thread in the appropriate section.
Please bare in mind that no individual is all-knowing on anything. Take the advice and knowledge of everyone and make your own knowledge database.
DDAoN is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 05:37 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



ok, I upgraded to IE9 - AND I'm Still getting websites that say I have an OLD Version?anything I can do???
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:04 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,233
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Run chkdsk then open IE>Help>About and see what version you really have. I'm assuming the only thing you declined from Windows Update was IE9 when offered and that your updates are up to date.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 06:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I went to Windows & personnaly updated to IE9 for my Windows 7 64 bit
So I better have this version
PLUS it is WAY Different from IE8
I don't know where IE>Help is - but the About Internet Explorer says I have IE9 - 9.08.....
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 12:17 AM   #8
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,466
OS: Windows 8.1



Do you have the same problem by doing this:

Click on the icon inside the red box:



The broken piece of paper will change to a dark blue fill.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 05:49 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Am I looking for something. This just shows previous history. No problem clicking though.

I am going to do my weekly ChDisk, etc. and then see if it helps.
Problem is - it doesn't happen all the time. If it did then I would know whether it was fixed or not.
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 01:12 PM   #10
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,233
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Make sure you have KB2454826 installed.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 07:27 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I have KB2530548 which is suppose to be for Windows 7 64-bit
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 05:54 AM   #12
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,466
OS: Windows 8.1



Do you mean you cant see what I posted in post 8?
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 08:34 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Yes but how do I know which one it is for if the Windows IE screen doesn't show me. I can't see it until I download it.

And shouldn't I have rec'd the correct one from their download???
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 09:14 AM   #14
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,233
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



What GTP is trying to see is if the problem exists in "Compatibility Mode". Open IE9, click the red box shown in Post #8 and go to one of the problem sites. If this fails, try downloading the 32 bit version of IE9. Even though you have a 64 bit box, it should work OK as some have encountered problems with the 64 bit version.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:06 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



ok, I'll check it out & let you know what happens.
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:14 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Just went to one of the areas i have problems with, - but no blue area - just the arrow down which does not show that i was just at the site - actually is open in another tab.
So I'm just going to download the IE9 for the 32 bit;

I'll be back.....
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:18 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Well, that was a bummer - Said not capatible.....

Can I scream yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 04:21 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



spelling??? capable

I then saved IE9 for 64 bit = then tried to installed But it says that I have a more current version on computer - I guess I've already had an upgrade...

yesterday did the Chkdisk - earlier today I cleaned disk & defragged didn't need it)

AND still areas still say I have older version of IE.

Tried to see if MS had anything online - but don't think they help people with new versions - They wait for us to figure them out - that's Why I usually wait to upgrade anything - to make certain most of the problems have been figured out.
But I still like MS so .....
__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 04:30 PM   #19
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 11,233
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



In the Control Panel Programs/Features what shows for IE?
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 06:59 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 368
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



strange - would you believe I don't see it there....

__________________
bmsbms29 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Websites Say Email is Invalid
When applying for jobs on several different websites they all say the email address being used to register on the site is invalid or is not recognized. The email address is fine and is used to receive and send mail all the time. It is very frustrating because every single time that I am signing up...
japine Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 06-27-2011 09:33 PM
Unable To See Pictures on Websites
HELP!!! I am totally baffled and starting to feel really stupid. I have 2 HP Laptops both running windows 7 using same versions of IE8 and Firefox. On one of the laptops I can view pictures/images on all websites without any problems. However, on the other laptop I can not view pictures and...
Sunshinegal Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 02-20-2011 04:19 AM
On many websites, text appears in odd, half-cursive font
I couldn't really find a more specific forum for my problem, as this happens on every browser. Basically, since I could remember, a large portion of websites I've been to appear in some odd font that I don't believe I have on my computer. As you will see in items 2 and 3, my font settings in all...
brownoser Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 02-18-2011 07:37 PM
Certain images, stylesheets and websites not loading
Hello, I hope this is in the right forum. I'm suspecting that it's not just a Firefox issue, however, so I apologise if it should be in a different forum. Since a few days ago, certain aspects of some websites aren't loading for me. For example, nothing located under...
baroquestar Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 0 01-21-2011 04:40 PM
Europe may force ISPs to censor some websites
Members of the European Parliament Monday prepared their position on whether mandatory EU-wide web blocking of certain sites should be introduced, prompting concern from digital rights groups. The Parliament's Civil Liberties Committee examined a report that looks at the viability of...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 01-11-2011 11:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts