Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

[SOLVED] IE9 Can't Open Secure Pages

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] IE9 Can't Open Secure Pages within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Downloaded IE9 a couple of days ago. Seemed to work ok, some changes from IE8 but I didn't see


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2011, 06:43 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Hi,

Downloaded IE9 a couple of days ago. Seemed to work ok, some changes from IE8 but I didn't see any improvements.
Only problem I have encountered is that I could not get it to open HTTPS pages (my bank). The website was in "Trusted Sites" but IE9 would not progress past the 'login' page even though the bank helpdesk could see that I was logged in.

I uninstalled IE9 and IE8 still works ok.

Any suggestions, please?

Rob.

__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:23 AM   #2
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



Hello from another Aussie

Please try this:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ml#post1445007

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-22-2011, 08:07 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



I'll give it a try.

I assume that I do this AFTER I re install IE9?

Rob
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-22-2011, 09:07 PM   #4
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



Yes please.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 04:24 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Hi,

Must be having a bad morning.

Tried the fix and finished up with the error message in the attachment.

Rob.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture30.PNG
Views:	109
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	88927  
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:43 PM   #6
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



Try the manual fix please.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 11:24 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



will do
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 11:56 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Hi,

Tried the manual solution as requested.

The first (urlmon.dll) and 6th (vbscript.dll) went in ok. All the others said that they loaded but... see attached error messages. There are 6, but the forum only allows me to load 2 at a time.

I tried my banking site again, still no go.

Rob.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture32.PNG
Views:	33
Size:	14.1 KB
ID:	88947   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture33.PNG
Views:	25
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	88948  
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 08:04 PM   #9
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



Try this please:

Fix IE Utility for Windows 7 - Re-registers all the DLL and OCX files - Windows 7 Download
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 06:23 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Hi,

My Anti Virus is telling me that the site is malicious.

Rob.
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 04:40 AM   #11
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



What is your Antivirus? I just uploaded the file to Virustotal, and the file came back clean:

VirusTotal - Free Online Virus, Malware and URL Scanner
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:39 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Trend Micro Titanium
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 03:33 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Disabled Trend Micro, finally found Fix IE (it wasn't at the link) and ran it.

Sadly no change.

Rob.
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 09:17 AM   #14
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



Please try the suggestions here:

You cannot log in to or connect to secured Web sites in Internet Explorer
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 02:42 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Thanks.

I have contacted the webmaster at my bank to see if their site is up to handling IE9. I'll wait for his/her reply before trying this solution.

Rob.
__________________
Crossy is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 06:49 PM   #16
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,487
OS: Windows 8.1



No worries.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 06:29 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Coast NSW Australia
Posts: 752
OS: W7 64Bit HP SP1



Hi There.

After working through a few things with the bank's IT folks, it seems that IE Add-ons are the culprits. If I run IE9 without add-ons all is well so I have disabled all the add-ons for the moment. I can't detect any deterioration in performance, can you give me a heads up about any problems related to working without add-ons, please?

I guess the next step would be to re enable them one at a time to find the one that's causing the problem?

Rob.

__________________
Crossy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Email link will not open IE9
I am running Win7 64 bit on a new Dell with MS Office 2010 Home & Office and IE9. If IE is already open, an imbedded link in an email opens normally. However if IE is not already open and running and I click a link in an email, OL tries to open a program to go to the link, but cannot open...
Larry Stroup Internet Explorer Forum 9 04-13-2011 11:11 AM
A Complex Issue...
Summary of problem: My family has been having trouble with this laptop for some time now. I've taken up the task of trying to solve whatever problem it may have. I find myself at a dead end though. I found that the computer, get this, had no anti virus protection. So I installed AVG. However, AVG...
Tyger2057 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 03-13-2011 11:31 AM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 01:45 PM
Netgear FVX538 Firewall
Hi All, I am a newly joined to these forum, hopefully this is the correct section to post my inquiry. could anyone help me secure my network. we are running windows server 2003. the services installed are exchange 2003, AD, DNS, and our antivirus is Escan. When i am blocking some ports...
pdelcast Networking Support 3 02-07-2011 05:34 PM
[SOLVED] Help! All my programs now(don't) open with...
Hi, as I preamble I'm not a computer whiz. I have a Dell XPS 9000 (XPS 435T) desktop with Intel(R) CoreR7 CPU, 920 @2.67 GHz, 6 GB of Memory, 64 bits Operating system. Windows 7 Home Premium. The system is less then a year old and worked fine until today. Today though I decided to move some music...
tuto Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 01-13-2011 05:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts