Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

[SOLVED] IE8 Accelerators Not Working in Windows 7

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] IE8 Accelerators Not Working in Windows 7 within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Version of IE (Internet Explorer) 8.0.7600.16385 Operating System Win7 - 64bit What you have tried Rebooting Disabling and re-enabling individual


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2009, 05:23 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



Version of IE (Internet Explorer)
8.0.7600.16385

Operating System
Win7 - 64bit

What you have tried
Rebooting
Disabling and re-enabling individual accelerators

What the problem is
When I highlight text I get the blue accelerator icon as expected, but when I click on it there is no response

Give detail explaining your problem
They were working up until a while ago - I can't say exactly when they stopped

Tools|Manage Addins|Accelerators clearly lists all of the following as Default (status) accelerators:
Send with Live Mail
Map with Bing
Search movie with IMDB
Translate with Bing

If you get any error message please post them
No error messages, just no response




Browser Add-on Report generated by ToolbarCop v3.4
13/11/2009 8:08:21 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------

Browser Extension: &Virtual keyboard - {4248FE82-7FCB-46AC-B270-339F08212110} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010\klwtbbho.dll - Enabled - All Users

Browser Extension: URLs c&heck - {CCF151D8-D089-449F-A5A4-D9909053F20F} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010\klwtbbho.dll - Enabled - All Users

Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11D4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar.dll - Enabled - Current User

Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11D4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar.dll - Enabled - All Users

BHO: Adobe PDF Link Helper - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll - Enabled - All Users

BHO: IEVkbdBHO Class - {59273AB4-E7D3-40F9-A1A8-6FA9CCA1862C} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010\ievkbd.dll - Enabled - All Users

BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4D91-8333-CF10577473F7} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar.dll - Enabled - All Users

BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\5.1.1309.3572\swg.dll - Enabled - All Users

BHO: Google Dictionary Compression sdch - {C84D72FE-E17D-4195-BB24-76C02E2E7C4E} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Toolbar\Component\fastsearch_A8904FB862BD9564.dll - Enabled - All Users

BHO: FilterBHO Class - {E33CF602-D945-461A-83F0-819F76A199F8} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010\klwtbbho.dll - Enabled - All Users

Menu Extension: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - - res://C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~1\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000 - Enabled - Current User

Run - Startup: Sidebar - - C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun - Enabled - Current User

Run - Startup: FolderOpener! - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\ThinkIt\FolderOpener!\FolderOpener!.exe" - Enabled - Current User

Run - Startup: - - - Enabled - Current User

Run - Startup: Adobe ARM - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0\AdobeARM.exe" - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: Adobe Reader Speed Launcher - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe" - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: AdobeCS4ServiceManager - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\CS4ServiceManager\CS4ServiceManager.exe" -launchedbylogin - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: AVP - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010\avp.exe" - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: BDRegion - - C:\Program Files (x86)\Cyberlink\Shared Files\brs.exe - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: LGODDFU - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\lg_fwupdate\fwupdate.exe" blrun - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: PDVD9LanguageShortcut - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD9\Language\Language.exe" - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: QuickTime Task - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: RemoteControl9 - - "C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD9\PDVD9Serv.exe" - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: TrueImageMonitor.exe - - C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\TrueImageMonitor.exe - Enabled - All Users

Run - Startup: NokiaMServer - - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nokia\MPlatform\NokiaMServer /watchfiles startup - Enabled - All Users



List of running Processes
--------------------------------------------------------------
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2\schedhlp.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\ThinkIt\FolderOpener!\FolderOpener!.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Datacolor\Spyder3Elite\Utility\Spyder3Utility.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\Shared Files\brs.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\lg_fwupdate\fwupdate.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD9\PDVD9Serv.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Acronis\TrueImageHome\TrueImageMonitor.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nokia\MPlatform\NokiaMServer.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Users\Mark\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_toolbarcop.zip\Toolbarcop.exe


Operating System details
----------------------------------------------------------
Operating System: Windows NT 6.1
Build: 7600
Service Pack level:

__________________
GKDaniels is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 04:20 PM   #2
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


Hi GKDaniels, welcome to TSF..

Has their failure coincided with the installation or upgrade of your anti-virus/firewall software?

Do new accelerators work? If you go to Page -> All Accelerators -> Find more accelerators. Install a couple of new ones then restart the browser.

Also, perhaps try Safe Mode with Networking to see if that is any different.

__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



Thanks for the suggestions.

I added some accelerators, but to no avail. I restarted in safe mode with networking, and tried both 64 and 32 bit versions of IE but it made no difference. I have been running Kaspersky AV since the day I installed Win 7, so no, the problem did not start when I added it.

I am at a loss.
__________________
GKDaniels is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 06:53 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



Found the problem. Don't understand why, but I found it nevertheless.

The problem appears to be the IMDB accelerator. When I change it from a default acc. to a enabled acc. all accelerators work - when I change it back to default they all stop working again - I don't even have to restart IE to see the effect - I have tried removing it and reinstalling it, but the effect is the same.

What makes this more strange is that I was running the IMDB accelerator as a default under Vista (IE8) 64bit, without any such problems, and I'm also fairly certain that it was working under Win 7 when I first installed it - so I don't think the accelerator itself is the root of the problem, but at least I have a workaround.
__________________
GKDaniels is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 01:19 PM   #5
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


Sounds nuts....I use the IMDb accelerator on Win7 (and XP) without any issues.

Anyway, glad you got the problem sorted

P.S - As an afterthought, does it help if you change its category? You can do that in the manage addons window.
__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 05:40 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
OS: windows7


Thumbs Up

Voila! Changing its category from Search to Movies resolved the issue - it runs perfectly fine as a Default.

I'm not sure what led you to think of that, but thank you indeed.
__________________
GKDaniels is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 08:21 PM   #7
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


You're welcome

__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts