Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

[SOLVED] IE7 slow to load pages

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] IE7 slow to load pages within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My IE7 is taking 60 to 90 seconds to load up to my home page. It then takes 40-60 seconds


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2008, 04:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: phoenix arizona
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to rick737

My IE7 is taking 60 to 90 seconds to load up to my home page. It then takes 40-60 seconds to load any other page. When I use Firefox I do not have this problem, it loads pages quickly. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling. I have also cleaned up any spyware, run disk cleanup, and defragged the hard drive, all with no effect. Any ideas?

__________________
rick737 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 04:26 AM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,682
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

Have you reset IE7 options?

Click on Tools, Internet Options, Advanced, restore defaults.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 01:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP sp3



I have the same problem. Takes forever "connecting" to my homepage (about:blank). Hyjackthis!, Ad-Aware, Spybot S&D, Avast and Norton IS2008 all say the system is clean. I have reset all my advanced internet options to their defaults. Uninstalled IE 7, rebooted to use IE6, and then reinstalled IE7 (7.0.5730.13). IE7 w/o add-ons runs just as slow ("C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -extoff). Granted whenever the system bogs down I expect IE to slow up. When the LAN slows IE should too. But my other PC's on my LAN all run IE faster than this one and this one has one of the fasted processors with the most memory etc. etc.
[Dual Intel 3.4GHz, 333MHz 2Gb RAM, XP sp3, Dell XPS Gen1)
Any Ideas?????????????????????
__________________
remdds is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 05:50 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: phoenix arizona
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to rick737

Resetting defaults did the job. Pretty amazing considering uninstalling and reinstalling didn't work. Thanks for the help.
__________________
rick737 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 06:55 PM   #5
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,682
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi Rick...

Glad to hear that issue is solved.

It may have been an ActiveX issue.. not sure. Interesting that re-install of OS did nothing.

Best of luck to you.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts