Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

[SOLVED] can't delete temporary Internet files

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] can't delete temporary Internet files within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. please can some one help, when i delete temporary Internet files I'm left with 21 different icons all with the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-23-2010, 03:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



please can some one help, when i delete temporary Internet files I'm left with 21 different icons all with the same name " favicon.ico" no matter what i do i can't get rid of them, it's driving me mad

__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:42 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7



favicon.ico files are used by IE both within the browser itself and within your favorites. In addition to that they can effectively be 'locked' by widgets such as active desktop components or news-ticker style programs.

You could boot Windows into safe-mode (without network support) and then try deleting them from there. But if you are running any kind of widgets or access sites from your favourites which contain favicon.ico files they will simply re-appear upon booting Windows normally again.

Why do you need them gone?

__________________
dcsretro is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 04:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: India
Posts: 6
OS: Windows Se7en and Ubuntu 10.10



Hey try to delete using Unlocker. Its a simple tool, which tell you about a file which cannot be deleted, and which process is using it. you can simply delete that file by using unlocker.
__________________
jackgow is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:29 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by dcsretro View Post
favicon.ico files are used by IE both within the browser itself and within your favorites. In addition to that they can effectively be 'locked' by widgets such as active desktop components or news-ticker style programs.

You could boot Windows into safe-mode (without network support) and then try deleting them from there. But if you are running any kind of widgets or access sites from your favourites which contain favicon.ico files they will simply re-appear upon booting Windows normally again.

Why do you need them gone?
thanks for replying so quick, the reason i wanted the favicon files deleted , I'm playing online pool on yahoo games and it's stop working properly so they suggested deleting t.i.f which I've done (apart from favicon files) but it's made no difference.
__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:32 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by jackgow View Post
Hey try to delete using Unlocker. Its a simple tool, which tell you about a file which cannot be deleted, and which process is using it. you can simply delete that file by using unlocker.
thanks i'll try that
__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:41 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7



I would be very suprised if the favicon.ico files are causing this. At the end of the day they are just icon files (can be created with a standard icon editor). You might want to try and delete cookies (if you haven't done so already) rather than temp files. Aside from that, try using a different Yahoo ID on your PC (perhaps a friends or a temporary one you setup) and try with that. Does it work then? If so, it is likely to be a corruption of your Yahoo ID of some kind.
__________________
dcsretro is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 11:03 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by dcsretro View Post
I would be very suprised if the favicon.ico files are causing this. At the end of the day they are just icon files (can be created with a standard icon editor). You might want to try and delete cookies (if you haven't done so already) rather than temp files. Aside from that, try using a different Yahoo ID on your PC (perhaps a friends or a temporary one you setup) and try with that. Does it work then? If so, it is likely to be a corruption of your Yahoo ID of some kind.
I've tried signing in under a different yahoo ID but makes no difference,
any more suggestion's would be great , many thanks
__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-23-2010, 11:43 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 31
OS: Windows 7



Ok, so I think we have discounted temporary files and cookies. Looks like we are onto other things. I don't tend to play Yahoo games, but I do play similar games on other sites and I am assuming they are flash based or similar. Is the problem specific to the pool game you like playing or are other games affected in the same way?

If you provide the url to the game you are trying to run, I will take a look and see whether that provides any further clues as to what the tech behind it is and whether there might be any other reasons for this....
__________________
dcsretro is offline  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:37 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



thanks for looking in to this problem, the url is http://uk.games.yahoo.net/Lobby.aspx...cat_fg_r&refId=
__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 01:35 AM   #10
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,284
OS: Windows 8.1



Do you have these problems in any other browsers? Please try one of the below (both are free):

Firefox
Opera
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is online now  
Old 11-25-2010, 07:42 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



I've tried FireFox but it makes no difference
__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 09:58 PM   #12
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,284
OS: Windows 8.1



http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

Go there and click on verify
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is online now  
Old 11-26-2010, 08:37 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
OS: vista



I downloaded and updated java and that sorted the problem out. Thanks for all your help, great forum
__________________
paul710 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 11:01 PM   #14
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,284
OS: Windows 8.1



No worries glad to have helped.

I will mark this thread as solved and close it. If the problem returns please send me a PM and I will re-open it for.

This apply's only to the original thread starter.

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts