Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

[SOLVED] "windows explorer has stopped working"/"windows is restarting"

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] "windows explorer has stopped working"/"windows is restarting" within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, running ie 9 & win 7 & avg did cmd - sfc /scannow - no errors no virus problem


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2011, 03:09 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



Hi,

running ie 9 & win 7 & avg

did cmd - sfc /scannow - no errors
no virus

problem started after ie9 install , so it seems

"windows explorer has stopped working"/"windows is restarting"

after error and little time all tabs pop up good and ready to go

just annoying - like my dog barking at 4:30am thinking she's a rooster

thanks,
marcus

__________________
rapid stream is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 04:29 AM   #2
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



Hello Marcus,

Do you get this error when opening up IE? If yes does it happen instantly? or after browsing for a little while?

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 07-02-2011, 11:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



explorer opens fine and runs awhile and then it may or may not happen but probably after i've been browsing
__________________
rapid stream is offline  
Old 07-03-2011, 02:25 AM   #4
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



Sorry do you mean Explore stops responding or Internet explore stops responding?
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 07-05-2011, 11:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



sorry here - internet exporer stops working

the message comes up with a small box with a faint green line showing progression so i hit cancel and then the site is usable - it pops up periodically but always eventually reopens the site or sites and they are usable - it never completley fails me out
__________________
rapid stream is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 07:58 AM   #6
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



Is it only on certain sites? is on HTTPS sites? or on sites with alot of videos/flash?
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 02:06 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
OS: windows 7



my problem with "Internet Explorer has stopped working" went away - might have been an update - just guessing
__________________
rapid stream is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 04:08 AM   #8
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



Glad to hear it is now working.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 08:04 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7 SP1



This problem is an ongoing problem. This am when I went to the link to this forum the window came up with small window stating 'Internet explorer has stopped working and has to close'. When I hit cancel it momentarily closes then reopens. It is not as if IE is completely lost forever but it happens often enough to be very annoying. It is not with any specific web site. I have Windows 7, IE9 latest version. I wish Microsoft could find a fix for this. It can go a day without this occurance then happens several times on another day. No particular sites. It is happening to many users of IE as this is not the only forum concerning this problem. There is never a solution found or suggestion as to what to do. I have opened IE9 without add-ons, but never know if it would have happened that day or not. I need the few add-ons I use. Please have someone investigate this annoying problem.
__________________
pvanc is offline  
Old 07-18-2011, 10:36 PM   #10
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



Please follow the instructions I have posted in your thread here:

IE crashing.

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP behaving weirdly!!!!
Hello I am having some problems with my xP and its behaving weirdly. This problem started after having bluescreen of death so i reinstalled my xp and formatting my harddisk. 1st: I recently used a software to check my system specs it told me my processor is intel pentium II 2503 MHz, but i bought...
arko17 RAM and Power Supply Support 25 06-21-2011 01:55 AM
Can't find BIOS upgrade
Hi. Every time I try to install any version of Windows, I get an error that my BIOS does not support ACPI. In XP, I could simply use F7 to make the setup ignore that, but now I am trying to install 7 and it won't work at all, so I have to find a solution. The solution would be to update my BIOS. I...
Kuky Motherboards, Bios & CPU 14 05-03-2011 02:05 PM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 07:36 AM
Am I now clean ? Malware.trace removed
I regularly scan with Malwarebyes and less often with SuperAntiSpyware , Spybot, and Avast AV. A scan with MB detected nothing. However, a scan with SAS found Malware.trace and quarantined it. The only listed problem was one registery entry...
Totten Resolved HJT Threads 80 01-08-2011 02:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts